Replacing thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-13, 03:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing thermostat

Hi
I am trying to replace a heat pump thermostat. The new thermostat is honeywell 6000 pro. The old thermostat wires are; Y, G, R, O, C, E, W2.
The sockets in the new thermostat are; RC, R (with a connecting jumper), Y, C, O/B,G, AUX/E, L.

All the wires are obvious apart from the W2 which does'nt have an equivalent. I read somewhere that it should be connected to AUX/E together with the E wire. Is that true? If not, how to connect it?

Thanks
Ken
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-13-13, 08:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,412
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
Using both wires would increase comfort on very cold days.
Taping off the old E would be more efficient.

I would tape off the old E if Aux has at least 10 kw, but I'd bet NC is a colder climate than TX.
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-13, 11:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you.
Just to be sure. Can E and W2 wire both be inserted together in the Aux/E connection?
Ken
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: