Replacing Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-13, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Thermostat

What is the proper way to wire a Visionpro 8320 thermostat to a Goodman MBVC2000 modular blower with 2 stage DSZC18 condenser? Is W1 and W2 jumpered at the AH? Can I put a jumper between AUX or E to L so the red light will come on when 2nd stage compressor comes on? and is AUX or E 2nd stage compressor?

Thanks very much
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-13, 09:18 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,412
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
I'd wire it in this manner.



Aux/E is your electric heat strips.
You shouldn't need to install a jumper between Aux/E to L for the LED to light up when Aux is energized.
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-13, 09:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, no need for a jumper between W1 and W2? I'm assuming W2 is AUX terminal on thermostat. I'd still like to monitor 2nd stage compressor, can I put a jumper between L and Y2?

Thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-13, 09:59 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,412
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
I have seen a 5 kw heat strip that was split into W1 and W2 (2.5KW each)
I used a jumper on it.

I have seen 20 kw heat strips with 10 kw on W1 and 10KW (thousand watts) on W2. I would not place a jumper on that application if I could avoid it.

What size is your heat strip?

The older VisionPro stats have Aux and E as separate terminals, and the new models don't.
Does your stat have separate Aux and E terminals?

I'd wire it as shown in the diagram with 15 or 20 KW heat and separate Aux and E terminals.

170 = 12
190 = 0
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-13, 10:09 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,412
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
When configured for heat pump operation the LED will light up when Aux heat is energized.
Some of the old mercury bulb Honeywell stats had multiple LED's to allow this but the jumper shouldn't be used in your application.

If you like data on system usage, you might look into the Honeywell Prestige.

The outdoor unit has a strange color code...
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-13, 10:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It has 20kw heat strips and my VisionPro has AUX and E terminals.

Thanks,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: