Trane Ground Source Heat Pump Compressor Won't Start

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-24-13, 07:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane Ground Source Heat Pump Compressor Won't Start

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm trying to get some heat in the house on a cold night. This is a Trane ground source unit, circa 2000. It's model number is GSUF048. This morning the unit's fan was running but no heat. The 2 amp fuse was open. I replaced it and cycled the power on the unit. Same story but the new fuse has not failed. At this moment the compressor and water pumps do not respond to a call from the thermostat but the fan turns on. I can manually force the compressor and pumps on from the relay. I thought it might be a bad transformer, but no dice. Replaced and same story.

Any ideas would be appreciated. I have a volt meter and can perform basic troubleshooting operations.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-24-13, 08:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

There aren't many people around familiar with the geothermal systems.
I couldn't find any useable info like schematics on the system.

Maybe Houston (HVAC mod) has a better idea.

Doesn't that system have some type of re-heat system like electric coils for backup ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-24-13, 09:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Emergency Heat

Hi PJMax,

Yes, the system is equipped with emergency heat coils. The ground source systems are not fundamentally different than the air-to-air systems as I'm sure you're aware. I was just thinking there may be some safety switch or reset switch of which I'm unaware. I know diagnosing such systems remotely is difficult, I just thought I might catch a break and be missing something simple.
All the best,
Gator
 
  #4  
Old 11-24-13, 09:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,149
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
I've worked on the systems but I had the wiring diagrams for them on site. I don't have any with me or I could point you in a positive direction.
 
  #5  
Old 11-24-13, 10:44 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,410
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
http://www.trane.com/webcache/un/wat...2_07011998.pdf

I see a normally open and a normally closed stat in line with that 2 amp fuse.
I'd check the wiring to them as well since the fuse blew.

Does you unit have a variable speed blower or a PSC blower?


This is the variable speed diagram...

 
  #6  
Old 11-25-13, 06:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Variable

Houston,

It's a variable speed fan.
 
  #7  
Old 11-25-13, 10:45 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,410
Received 14 Votes on 11 Posts
Measure for 24 volts AC between R and C.
If it is present, give it a cooling demand and measure for 24VAC between Y and C.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: