Trane BAY96X141502 Troubleshooting help

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-09-14, 05:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane BAY96X141502 Troubleshooting help

My Trane electric furnace is only running on the bottom coil, the other two coils have open temperature fuse links. The bottom coil seems to be controlled separate from the top two coils via the box in the lower left corner. This bottom coil gets its power from the lower breaker.

I've done a bit of diagnostics with with a voltage meter and found the following.

1) The upper coils are not powering on and have open temp fuse links
2) The contactor does not have continuity through the left terminals therefore the middle coil should not get power.
3) The resetting temp fuse has continuity.
4) The upper right terminal screw on the 60amp breaker seems to be stripped but is making a connection with no signs of burning.
5) All coils have continuity and are not shorted to ground.

After doing this troubleshooting I bought two temp fuses and installed one of them in the upper coil. This is the coil that is controlled by the right side of the contactor (this side has continuity). I ran the unit in EM heat for a night with the second coil working. The unit heated the house well initial but I woke up to the lower 30amp breaker tripped, 60 degree house temp and the new temp fuse blown.

From here I'm wondering what my next step should be? I have a new contactor and one temp fuse.

Before wasting another temp fuse I would like to ensure my thermostat wiring is correct. Both the black wire and the tan wire are not connect to the thermostat block which makes me think that could be a contributing factor. This is a 2 stage heat (HP + electic) and 1 stage cool with no outdoor temp gauge. The airhandling unit is a TWV025B140A1.

Any help would be appreciate. Thanks

The thermostat is a Honeywell th8320u1008

TWV025B140A1 manual: http://appliance911seabreeze.com/TWV03CB140A1.pdf

Name:  coil 4.jpg
Views: 1604
Size:  49.2 KBName:  furnace 1.jpg
Views: 1641
Size:  47.8 KBName:  furnace 2.jpg
Views: 2269
Size:  49.5 KBName:  furnace terminal.jpg
Views: 1571
Size:  49.8 KBName:  furnace.jpg
Views: 1938
Size:  40.9 KBName:  tstat terminal.jpg
Views: 1336
Size:  34.2 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-09-14, 10:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,522
Received 408 Votes on 384 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Open fusible links is telling me that you have an airflow problem there.
Reduced airflow and the coils are running too hot.


I'd replace that 60A breaker with the stripped screw too.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-14, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah I agree on the new 60 amp breaker.

Airflow from the unit seems good, filter is new, no obstructions in the insulated duct work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: