Heat pump system temperatures, do these sound normal?

Old 01-25-14, 11:18 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Heat pump system temperatures, do these sound normal?

Other than wiring Heat pump systems for others, I have limited experience using one in my own house. I have had a heat pump for a few years but this winter is the first time I have not had my propane logs to help keep my house warm. The temp in my house a few days ago when the outside temp was -1 was 53 with the thermostat set on 66. The thermostat was showing aux heat on. Today the outside temp is 24 F and the system is close to keeping up (setting 67 and temp 66) I did some temp checks and observed the following, I lowered the thermostat to the place where only the heat pump was on, ( no aux heat) and the temp at the floor register was 108.5 F, with the heat pump and aux on the register temp was 114-115 F, with the thermostat set to emergency heat only the register temp was 104-110. After running these tests the thermostat setting were the same so I raised the set point 1deg just to get the heat pump to kick on and the temp came up to set point and stayed there, but a couple of min later the aux heat appeared on the thermostat even though the set temp and the actual temp were the same? After about 10 min I looked and the aux was still on but the temp was still on set point?
I guess my question is, do I have a system acting normal for a heat pump, or do I need to check it out,

Thanks for your input!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-25-14, 12:37 PM
D
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
-1F is pretty low for most heat pumps to be effective ... and many automatically shut down and activate EM HT below ~ 4 F.
The register temperatures you measured seem pretty decent - 108F at the register for 24F ambient from the heat pump alone would make me happy.