Replacing a Goodman Janitrol HPT 18-60 Thermostat

Reply

  #41  
Old 11-14-14, 06:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Just an update. Got up this morning, and the heat pump has been running constantly since 6 am. it is 10 am now. Have the temp set for 70 degrees,but the system gets the house to 68 degrees, and keeps running. It is 29 degrees outside. Turned Emergency on and the strips are working. Have any ideas of what's going on?
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 11-14-14, 07:50 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
At that outdoor temperature the heat pump will run most of the time. Does your thermostat indicate auxiliary heating is coming on? Did you configure the Nest to operate auxiliary heating the way you want to operate?
 
  #43  
Old 11-14-14, 09:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
I still have the Janitrol. No way of telling if Aux is coming on.
 
  #44  
Old 11-14-14, 09:52 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
The easiest way to tell is to look at the electric meter. It will spin much faster when the heat strips kick in. You could look at the meter when just the heat pump is running to see how fast it rotates. Then turn on emergency heat and watch the meter. Then turn off emergency heat. Set the thermostat five degrees higher and observe the meter to see if it rotates faster compared to heat pump by itself. The way we check the heat strips to see if they are on is with a clamp meter to test the amp draw.
 
  #45  
Old 11-14-14, 06:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Thanks for the info.
We have electronic meters now, but they do have indicator bars. I tried your suggestion. It went faster on emergency heat, but stayed the same as heat pump only, with the 5 degree rise. Sequencer was replaced last year. Does it have anything to do with the strips coming on when they supposed to?
 
  #46  
Old 11-14-14, 07:15 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
It depends on how the strips are connected in the air handler. Many times W1 and W2 are wire-nutted together as well as W3 (if installed). There are several ways they can be staged and combined depending on your needs and number of strips installed. From your description it appears the wire that controls activation of the auxiliary heat strip is either not connected or the sequencer or strip is faulty or mis-wired. The best thing to do is determine the heat package you have and get a wiring diagram of the air handler and check to see if the wiring is correct. It is really not difficult.
 
  #47  
Old 11-15-14, 12:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Took the panel off and the thermostat wires are all connected except the O and Y. Its an A24-10 unit. Don't know where the outside unit wires are unless its behind the thermostat or under the house.
 
  #48  
Old 11-15-14, 12:34 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Please post the model of your air handler and the outside condenser.
 
  #49  
Old 11-15-14, 09:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Janitrol HPT 18-60 to Honeywell rth6350d

As I tried to replace my old Janitrol thermostat with a new honeywell rth6350d I realized that I don't know much about HVAC systems and apparently can't get it to work.
I attached a picture of my old thermostat setup and after reading some of the previous comments on this forum this is the way a setup my new honeywell

Aux/E White and Brown
R Red
Y Yellow
G Green
O/B Orange
Blue Not used

I also tried just white or brown in the Aux and nothing different happens. I would appreciate if any of you could help me figure this out. Thanks
Name:  20141004_111145.jpg
Views: 6517
Size:  27.8 KB
 
  #50  
Old 11-15-14, 10:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
A24-10 inside. Checked all the wiring by the diagram and everything was right. The wires at the thermostat had a white sheathing, and the wires coming from the outside unit had a brown sheathing. I ran them down, and they were all wired together behind the air handler. The white wire had broken loose inside the wire nut. I ran the test you suggested again. On emergency, the meter ran slower than heat pump alone. When I bumped the thermostat up 10 degrees it went a lot faster. So i guess the strips are working now.
 
  #51  
Old 11-16-14, 08:51 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
eiadame,

Did you go into the advanced menu and configure the settings for your system?

For example:

Function 1 set to 5 (could be 6, 7 or 8 depending on your system)
Function 2 set to 0 and all the way through?

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2416ES.pdf
 
  #52  
Old 11-16-14, 09:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
I did, but I'm not too sure what type of system i have. I know its all electric And a heat pump with aux heat
 
  #53  
Old 11-16-14, 09:59 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Based on the photo you posted it would appear you have 1 cool/2 heat. So you would set function 1 to 5. Is the system operating at all?
 
  #54  
Old 11-16-14, 10:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
It was working before replacing the thermostat now its not working at all but i think i made a mistake in the configuration
 
  #55  
Old 11-16-14, 10:45 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
If you did not turn off power to the air handler before you installed the new thermostat you may have blown the low volt fuse. If you post the model number of the air handler it will allow someone to better assist. In the meantime, you can shut off power to the air handler, remove the access panel and look for all of the small wires that come out of the thermostat cable going into it. Then look for a control board that has all of the wires going into it. Some air handlers do not have control boards but have a blower relay. Hopefully there is an automotive type fuse either 3A or 5A installed to protect the transformer. It is usually purple or amber colored.
 
Attached Images  
  #56  
Old 11-16-14, 06:46 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
I don't think that air handler has a fuse.
 
  #57  
Old 11-18-14, 05:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
I blew the fuse, replace it and everything works fine now thanks for the tips
 
  #58  
Old 11-18-14, 05:35 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Glad to hear you are back in service and thanks for the update!
 
  #59  
Old 02-10-15, 01:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
I have the same janitrol thermostat I'm replacing with a Honeywell 3550. My original wiring was a bit different though. My Y, G, R, O were all correct colors/wires but my w2 was a black wire and my c was a blue wire. E was not used. So that leaves a black, blue, white and a red as unknown. Where to go with them?
 
  #60  
Old 02-10-15, 06:16 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,364
Likes Received: 10
https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2584ES.pdf

Did you mean to post RTHL3550? (There is also an old CT3550 out there)

My Y, G, R, O were all correct colors
Y = yellow
G = green
R = red
O/B = orange
Aux = black ( use a small piece of wire to jumper Aux to E if they are still separate terminals)
C = blue


Tape off white if you were not using it before.

You must also configure to match your system.
1 = 5
2 = 0
6 = 9 But I would set this to 5 (cycles per hour)
8 = 9 But I would set this to 3 (cycles per hour) to increase comfort
 
  #61  
Old 08-09-15, 02:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
I bought a Honeywell 6350d to replace our janitrol 18-60 and hooked it up per the diagram but the fan won't come on. Any ideas?
 
  #62  
Old 08-09-15, 03:07 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,364
Likes Received: 10
check the wire on your G terminal since this terminal controls fan operation.
Is it the same wire that you removed from the old G terminal?
Is the wire broken?
 
  #63  
Old 08-12-15, 03:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
We used the green wire for the g terminal on both thermostats and it works on the old one but not the Honeywell. Do we hook it up on the g for the Honeywell or do we have it on the wrong one
 
  #64  
Old 08-12-15, 05:19 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,364
Likes Received: 10
Green is the color usually used for the G terminal. Substitutions are possible if the green wire was damaged.

It is important to use the same wire that was connected to G on the old thermostat. So if G was violet on the old stat, connect that color to G on the new thermostat.
 
  #65  
Old 08-30-15, 10:44 AM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Exclamation Trying to eplace the Janitrol with a Honeywell TH6220D1002

I think I have a similar issue as with the original poster. I have wired it like the photo shows below.

The issue is that when I put it together and turned the AC on it smells like the heat is on as well?

Thoughts?



 
  #66  
Old 08-30-15, 10:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Make sure Function 2 is set to 0.
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 08-30-15 at 10:58 AM. Reason: correction
  #67  
Old 08-30-15, 11:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
BTW, Go ahead and connect that black wire to the L terminal.
 
  #68  
Old 01-06-16, 04:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Goodman thermostat upgrade question

Good evening guys. I'm getting ready to use my limited to no experience to install a Nest G3 thermostat upgrade. My current wiring is:

C
R
Y1
E
W2
G
O

I walked thru the Nest web page wiring diagram based on my current available wires, and all is clear but one thing. I have a jumper wire going from E to W2, so do I run a similar jumper on the nest from these 2 connections? I have a 2-stage heat pump, single stage cool.. 100% electric with E-heat strips as a backup or heat booster.

Appreciate your help in advance!Name:  image.jpg
Views: 3394
Size:  40.0 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 4226
Size:  28.3 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes