Converting Honeywell T8411R to Honeywell TH8320

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-13-14, 12:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Converting Honeywell T8411R to Honeywell TH8320

I am moving my downstairs thermostat to replace the upstairs one. The old one is a T8411R to a TH8320 programmable. The downstairs unit is gas heat and A/C, and the upstairs is 2H/1C heat pump with auxiliary heat.

Current config on the 8411 is

G=green wire
C=blue wire
R=red wire
W1/Y jumpered = yellow wire
L=black wire
W2=white wire
E=no wire
B=no wire
O=orange wire

TH8320 wiring config says I should have:
L=Equip Monitor
E=Emerg Heat relay
Aux = Aux heat relay
Rc/R jumpered = power
O/B = changeover valve
Y=Compressor relay
G=Fan relay
C=24VAC common
S1 and S2 optional outdoor/remote sensor

It also says Install field jumper between Aux and E terminals if there is no emergency heat relay. Do I need to do this?

It also says I need to set O or B in installer setup for the O/B.

What wires should go to the connectors on the 8320?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-13-14, 06:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
G=green wire
C=blue wire
Rc/R=red wire
Y = yellow wire
L=black wire
Aux & E=white wire (Use a small piece of stat wire for a jumper)
O/B=orange wire

You must also configure the stat for heat pump with Aux heat.
Set function 170 to 7
190 = 0



 
  #3  
Old 02-14-14, 06:38 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Since the new t-stat has aux and compressor lockout settings, should I adjust those? How can I tell if my HP has an external temp wire?
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-14, 12:16 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maximizing efficiency honeywell visionpro with heat pump

I figured out I don't have a temp sensor.

How do I maximize heat pump efficiency? And how can I tell if the compressor is heating without the aux?
 
  #5  
Old 02-14-14, 04:58 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Avoid setback temperatures in heat mode to avoid causing the expensive electric heat strips from running as much.


You can tape off the black wire that is on L and place a jumper wire between Aux and L to see when Aux heat is energized if you do not see the LED light up already.

Very few outdoor units even have an L terminal for fault light indication. Do you know if you have an L terminal in your outdoor unit?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: