i need help

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-29-14, 01:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i need help

Ok first the blower fan wouldnt turn off. Replaced the time delay relay. Fan start turning off but right back on in two seconds. Its a 2000 model 2 ton goodman packaged unit. Opened the junction box and the sequencer fell apart. Now i have no compressor at all. I press the contactor by hand and the condensor fan turns on. Something is grounding out also causing sparks in my breaker panel outside but this stops when i remove the yellow wire from the sequencer. When i press the contactor the compressor come on also.i did arc a wire could this have blown the transformer?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-14, 01:57 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Do you have a volt meter and camera?
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-14, 03:44 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No volt meter. Just relying on past hvac experience. I know the sequencer is bad since it fell apart in my hand.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-14, 03:50 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The new sequencer will be here friday. I can get a volt meter. What am i checking?
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-14, 05:17 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How long can i leave the blower fan running without turning it off?
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-14, 06:43 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
It doesn't hurt a fan to run continuously.
It can raise the humidity in a home when the fan does not cycle but it is certainly the choice that I would make until repairs can be performed.
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-14, 01:38 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok the new sequencer came in today. I wired it wire for wire exactly off of the old sequencer. Turned all the breakers on and waited and nothing. I can press the contactor myself and the condenser and compressor come on but no blower fan. Ive had the blower fan running while waiting for this part so i know it works. And also i can feel heat coming out of the unit. Wth is wrong?
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-14, 04:24 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Going to need more information.

Turn off the breaker if the heat strip is stuck on.

Post the model number so I can view the diagram.
Did you order the same part number that is written on the old part?

Sounds like we could use some pics. Photo and image hosting, free photo galleries, photo editing

Was the compressor working with the broken sequencer controlling the blower?
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-14, 05:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman model #phk024-1 and i dont know how to get a photo. And yes i ordered the sequencer by part #
 
  #10  
Old 08-01-14, 05:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remember i arced a wire and the other day when the sequencer went out i turned the breaker on and it shot fire everywhere. Could i have fried the transformer? Still doesnt tell me why the heat is coming on
 
  #11  
Old 08-01-14, 05:50 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The heat strip only comes on when i press the contactor in. Other than me pressing the contactor nothing does anything
 
  #12  
Old 08-02-14, 09:24 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Manually pushing in the contactor will not provide 24 volts to the reversing valve.
The heat pump will provide heat. This does not prove that heat strips have been energized.

Do you have 24 VAC between R and Blue (C) at the field connections to your heat pump?

I see no fuse protecting the transformer. Check for 230 volts between 1 and 3 at the transformer then check for 24 volts between the red and blue wires at the transformer.Name:  Goodman PHK w BTDR.jpg
Views: 3534
Size:  50.2 KB
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: