Wiring a new goodman heat pump with existing payne air hander

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-14-14, 07:54 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a new goodman heat pump with existing payne air hander

Can anyone please give me some advice on the wiring of a new Goodman heat pump to an existing Payne air handler. I had a York heat pump and the compressor went out so i bought a goodman heat pump through johnstone supply.
My question is on the old york unit, there was a total of 7 wires going to the board. red, white, green, yellow, bkack, blue, and bage. The new goodman heat pump is different, it only has 5 wires, red, blue, white, yellow, and brown i believe. I wired colors accordingly as the goodman wires are wirenutted together as the york unit the wires screwed onto the board itself. Up in the airhandler do i need to do anything? I cannot get the outside unit to kick on when the thermostat calls for it. my thermostat is a york mercury t-stat, could this be the problem? If so, i will replace it, but what about the 2 extra wires at the heat pump it self.
Please any advice will help me. Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-14-14, 08:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,655
Received 1,051 Votes on 975 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Some pictures of your wiring would be extremely helpful.
Did you write down where the wiring was connected on the York before disconnecting it ?

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-14, 09:04 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The "terminal to wire" combination at the stat and at the air handler as well as the model number of the new heat pump help if you didn't write down the combination of the old heat pump.
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-14, 11:28 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the model number for the outside goodman heat pump is GSH130421BC. The york thermostat wiring strip was r-red, w-white, x-black, o-orange, b-blue, g-green, y-yellow. On the air handler the only wires are red and grey. Then the rest of the wires are wire nutted from the thermostat wires to the wires from the heat pump outside. i just bought a new t-stat.
 
  #5  
Old 09-14-14, 12:40 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
How does the red, white, blue and green wire connect to the air handler?

I suspect that you are looking at something besides the stat wire at the air handler.

You should have a grey, red, brown, and white wire connection to the air handler. Y and O can bypass the air handler but we need to know what combination is used for that as well.
 
  #6  
Old 09-15-14, 07:29 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 247
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
On the two Yorks that I've had, the outdoor unit control board controlled the indoor unit auxiliary heaters . I think many (most?) manufacturers control the auxiliary heat directly from the thermostat. If the Goodman control board doesn't activate the auxiliary heat, while the York control board did, then the two wires extra for York may well be the auxiliary heat control wires.

You really need to get a wiring connection diagram for each of the three players to wire it effectively. You want to be sure that auxiliary heat is activated at defrost time for example.

Most likely the existing thermostat can be made to work, but you can't really know until you examine the connections at each of the three devices (outdoor unit, indoor unit, thermostat).
 
  #7  
Old 09-15-14, 10:34 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
At the air handler where the stat wires from the outside unit and the thermostat are there is a red, white, and grey wire. There is a brown wire but it is on a plug going directly into the board.
The only thing I can't get going is the outside unit. The inside blower comes on when the stat calls but I cannot get the contactor to suck in to kick ten outside on.
 
  #8  
Old 09-15-14, 10:38 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: united states
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Now when you said the 2 extra wires will be aux heat. There is only 1 terminal for aux on the thermostat. Also does the blue wire going to the stat go on the B or C terminal?
 
  #9  
Old 09-16-14, 07:36 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 247
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I was just trying to offer a possible explanation for why the York had 7 wires and the Goodman had 5 ... just a guess.
If you get the wiring diagrams for the three devices it'll be a lot easier - otherwise just a lot of guessing; have you searched for them ?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: