sizing/heat pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-22-14, 02:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 388
sizing/heat pump

is there a chart that specifies the minimum size heat pump required , for the sq ft. of a home..for example a 1500 sq ft / a 2000 sq ft home-etc ..it is in TN.
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-14, 05:28 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,736
Upvotes Received: 3
A heat load calculation is the only way to know exactly what size unit you need. Square feet does not work.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-14, 09:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 239
If this is in an existing house, and you are replacing an existing system, you could get a pretty good idea of the heat loss and hence size required for a new unit by looking at historical heating bills if they're available.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-14, 09:50 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,729
Upvotes Received: 73
Back 1996 when I had my HP installed all the contractors that came out based the size on sq footage and then went up/down after factoring the insulation. They claimed 600 sq ft per ton. A heat load calculation is better! The better your house is insulated/sealed - the less demand there will be on the heat system.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-14, 03:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 388
Thanks for the info.
Its a ranch style with the basic rolled insulation between the joist in crawlspace an the blown insulation in the upstairs attic about 5 inches .duck is 7" and insulated.
-its 1800sqft so im assuming a minimum 2.5 -3 ton
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-14, 05:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 1
I had two heat pumps installed in my home. The one downstairs seems to be fine. The one upstairs is def. not helping with humidity. I have a constant humidity level of at least 70% while HVAC is cooling upstairs nicely. The adjusted the blower but it didn't fix the problem. I have read that overselling is often times problem. If I were oversold, is there any recourse? Also, I have a carrier with a huge separate air filter segment with a very thick filter (I think MERV 15) Could that be part of the problem?
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-14, 05:18 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,736
Upvotes Received: 3
Filter is not the issue. Either the HVAC system is to big or the bath fans are being used for to short a time or not vented properly.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes