goodman hpta18-60 thermostat replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-27-14, 09:34 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
goodman hpta18-60 thermostat replacement

I have a hta18-60 thermostat and i hope to get some information from someone to replace it with a more modern thermostat please
thank you in advanced
p.s sorry for the bad pics
Name:  20140927_111449.jpg
Views: 579
Size:  22.2 KB


Name:  20140927_111423.jpg
Views: 529
Size:  18.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-27-14, 10:26 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Looks like you have a 2 heat 1 cool heat pump thermostat.
I'd take a look at the terminals to see if you have a C (24 volt common) wire.

Name:  Goodman HPTA18060.jpg
Views: 623
Size:  35.7 KB
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-14, 07:25 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i will turn off power to the a/c unit here is a sec and take thermo off wall to see if "c" wire
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-14, 08:03 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i believe there is a "c" wire

Name:  AA20140928_100001.jpg
Views: 435
Size:  41.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-28-14 at 08:33 AM. Reason: enhanced picture
  #5  
Old 09-28-14, 08:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,471
Received 1,027 Votes on 953 Posts
So..... you have a 2 heat 1 cool heat pump thermostat with a common.
 
  #6  
Old 09-28-14, 09:08 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is that a common modern thermostat or do i need a special one
 
  #7  
Old 09-28-14, 09:14 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Are you going to to look on internet sites or local hardware stores for a new stat?

I prefer the Pro Honeywell thermostats available on sites like Amazon because they give you more options like cycles per hour but your local hardware stores would be more convenient, especially if you had to return it for any reason.

The Retail Honeywell thermostats begin with an R.
These would support a multistage heat pump...

Name:  Home Depot Stats.jpg
Views: 910
Size:  38.0 KB
 
  #8  
Old 09-28-14, 09:29 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well thats awesome i thought that mine was ld and would never be able to change the stat to modern
 
  #9  
Old 09-28-14, 09:48 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Remember to turn off power to the indoor unit before replacing the thermostat.

Touching C to R will pop a fuse or damage a transformer with power present.
Touching Y to R several times in a second is tough on the compressor with power present.
 
  #10  
Old 09-28-14, 04:14 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wire color on that pic should be same for new stat right
 
  #11  
Old 09-28-14, 04:45 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The black and white wires will connect to E and Aux but this will likely be the same terminal with the new stat.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: