Where is the C terminal?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-14, 08:01 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where is the C terminal?

I have 5 wire cable that connects to my thermostat but the black (C) is not being used. I bought a new thermostat that requires the C wire. I traced the wire back to nothing at the furnace end. It's loose. Now, my question is where I should connect it at the furnace? There are R Y F and G. All but F is connected. Looking at the diagram, F is fault. Thanks in advance.Name:  IMG_2259.jpg
Views: 258
Size:  25.1 KBName:  IMG_2260.jpg
Views: 235
Size:  25.1 KBName:  IMG_2261.jpg
Views: 244
Size:  28.2 KBName:  IMG_2276.jpg
Views: 217
Size:  30.0 KBName:  IMG_2285.jpg
Views: 256
Size:  42.2 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-14, 08:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,576
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Thanks for the pictures. I re-appropriated the schematic. Your C connection is the metal chassis of the air handler. You can use any screw or bolt near the terminal strip for your C connection.

Name:  cpic.jpg
Views: 240
Size:  24.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-14, 09:18 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I unscrewed a bolt that was already attached to the chassis, placed the black wire there and screw it back. Connect the new Thermostat and it worked!! Thanks PJmax!!
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-14, 09:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,576
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Thanks for stopping back and you're welcome
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: