Tstat wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-14, 10:57 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tstat wiring help

I have a heat pump system. I am replacing a Robertshaw 9429 Tstat with a Venstar T1100 rec.

the robershaw wiring is
L-BLACK
R-RED
C-BLUE
Y-YELLOW
G-GREEN
W2-WHITE
E-WHITE JUMPER FROM W2
O-ORANGE

I have wired the Venstar
C-BLUE
R-RED
G-GREEEN
W1-O-B -ORANGE
Y1-YELLOW
W2-WHITE
THERE IS NOT A SLOT FOR THE BLACK WHICH GOES DIRECTLY TO THE HEAT PUMP SO I HAVE TAPED IT UP.
There is also no E slot on Venstar.

Wiring at the air handler is
C-BLUE
G-GREEN
R-RED
Y-YELLOW
O-ORANGE
W2-WHITE-
W1-BROWN WHICH GOES TO THE HEAT PUMP AND NOT THE THERMOSTAT.
The issue I am having is that when the air handler starts to kick on it blows the 5 amp fuse on the air handler board. Is this a lack of power issue or have I mis wired the venstar? the Robertshaw does not blow the fuse.
I would be grateful for anyhelp!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-14, 11:20 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Welcome to the forum!! Did you set the switches to HP for heat pump and to O for the reversing valve as shown on page 5 of your manual?

http://www.venstar.com/Support/Insta...nstallRev3.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-14, 01:48 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the response. I sure did!
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-14, 02:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,667
Received 909 Votes on 849 Posts
I can't find any info on the Robertshaw 9429. Is that a complete/correct model number ?
Usually a fuse blowing can be traced to the Common in the wrong place or the wrong color used for common.

What's the make and model of the air handler ?
 
  #5  
Old 12-06-14, 02:42 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry it is a 9420. Air handler Unitary products F2RP025H06G
 
  #6  
Old 12-06-14, 03:33 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It appears you have the correct wiring based on your description. If you can post a clear photo of the wiring you have at the Venstar thermostat maybe someone can see something that may be causing your issues.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-14, 03:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,667
Received 909 Votes on 849 Posts
Sw #7 ---> off for non electric first stage heat
Sw #8 ---> on for heat pump
Sw #9 ---> off for "O" reversing valve

These are the switch settings and you appear to have the wiring correct.
 
  #8  
Old 12-06-14, 03:35 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will as soon as I get back to my home. Thank you.
 
  #9  
Old 12-06-14, 05:23 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
here are the photos as requested. My apologies if this is not correct. I have not learned how to completely navigate the site yet.
 
Attached Images     
  #10  
Old 12-06-14, 05:42 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is difficult to tell, but in the top photo you posted, it appears the white wire is going into the Y2 terminal. Can you check that as it needs to be in the W2?
 
  #11  
Old 12-06-14, 05:48 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it is going into W2 for sure. could not get a good pic
 
  #12  
Old 12-06-14, 06:25 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, good deal. Just wanted to be sure. In your photo of the dip switches I noticed the switches do not match the configuration for a heat pump system as shown on page 5 in the manual. The only switch in the ON position is switch 8 (HP). I suggest setting those as shown in the manual and then see if your fuse still blows.
 
Attached Images  
  #13  
Old 12-06-14, 06:32 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is where I started out in the beginning and fuse still blew. The first 6 switches are just for setting the house code which I have set to 10. 7 off 8 on and 9 off.
 
  #14  
Old 12-06-14, 06:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,667
Received 909 Votes on 849 Posts
Here's what I would do now.

Remove thermostat and take a jumper wire and jump from .....
R ---> G
R ---> Y
R ---> W1/O
R ---> W2

Try one set at a time and don't touch the C terminal.

Name:  Venstar wiring.jpg
Views: 481
Size:  39.2 KB

If the fuse doesn't blow.... it would appear you have a thermostat problem.
If the fuse does blow.... you need to determine which line has the short on it.
 
  #15  
Old 12-07-14, 05:58 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! It must be the thermostat. fuse did not blow plus the old Robert shaw tstat works perfectly. I will send it back. Thank you for your help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: