Heat pump contactor cycles

Old 01-08-15, 09:26 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heat pump contactor cycles

System: Split Carrier --> Furnace - FB4NANFO30, Heat Pump - 38YKC030300.

Contactor in outside unit begins to cycle after running for a short period of time (30 min). The contactor begins to cycle every 5 seconds. It opens and immediately recloses. The cycle is quick, the heat pump dips momentary each time when the main contacts cycle from on/off/on. The cycle continues as long as the heat pump is running. The sequence starts like this: Running normal --> off/on --> 5 seconds --> off/on --> 5 seconds --> off/on --> .......

After turning off the heat pump system for 30 min, it will turn on and operate correctly for a short period of time, the cycle will start again as noted above.

I have not changed any parts, yet. I am an electrical Engineer, 35 yrs. I was planning to change the outside unit contactor (24v coil, 230 v contacts) and 24v transformer feeding the contactor. Before changing anything, I will check voltage at the transformer and on the coil to see if I can verify the voltage input/output.

I am making the assumption, one of these components is bad.
Any other recommendations or tests I should consider to isolate the root cause?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-15, 10:35 AM
T
Received 12 Votes on 10 Posts
Sounds more like it's cycling on a low pressure switch. Can you trace the 24 volt line on the contactor and see if there is a pressure switch on the refrigerant line? If so, it might be time to call a pro and have the levels checked.

EDIT Don't allow it to keep cycling like that, it will shorten the life of the compressor.

Old 01-08-15, 10:47 AM
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
Sounds like a pressure problem,shutting it off for awhile the pressures equalize and your good to go until the pressure drops again.any signs of oil or wet areas on the piping either inside or out?
Geo

Old 01-08-15, 11:43 AM
Group Moderator
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts