Fan not turning on with new thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-15, 01:01 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fan not turning on with new thermostat

im having an issue with the fan coming on since i put in the new thermostat. i have the following setup on wires. the thermostat in question is the Honeywell RTH6350

L=NOTHING
AUX/E=WHITE
G=GREEN
O/B=ORANGE
NOT USED=BLUE
Y=YELLOW
R=RED
RC=BRIDGED FROM R

All of the wires on my heat pump unit correspond to the wires listed above. the white wire is hooked to w2 in the panel. other than that they all are exact as they say.

I know my old thermostat had auxillary and emergency heat settings so i have the settings on my thermostat set to 5 for heat pump with auxillary. also its set for electric. im just getting no response from the unit and im not sure what else i can do.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-11-15, 02:23 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Confirm you have function 3 set to 1.
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-15, 02:28 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the welcome!!!

with fuction 1 set to 5... my functions jump from 2 straight to 6 skipping function 3.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-15, 03:06 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you have function 2 set at?
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-15, 03:11 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,629
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
5 should be set to9 any type of electric system,you did use fresh batteries.
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-15, 03:23 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Function 2 is set to 0. Also Function 5 is not showing up either with my function 1 preset at 5. And yes brand new batteries
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-15, 03:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,774
Received 932 Votes on 869 Posts
It sounds like you missed the advanced programming steps.

The advanced start on page 13.
honeywell request form 3D69-2416ES.PDF

1---> 5
2---> 0
3---> 1
5---> 9
6---> 5
8---> 9
 
  #8  
Old 01-11-15, 03:35 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I went through them and adjusted everything acccordingly. I know i have a heatpump and i know it has the emergency heat and auxillary heat options. also it has the heatstrips for defrosting as well
 
  #9  
Old 01-11-15, 03:37 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just checked my field notes for this thermostat. It is normal for function 3 to not show up and then skip to functions 6 and 8 when setup for a heat pump with auxiliary heat. Do you have functions 6 and 8 set to 9?
 
  #10  
Old 01-11-15, 03:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes function 6 is set to 9. from there it skips to function 13.
 
  #11  
Old 01-11-15, 03:46 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might have a defective thermostat. I have had a few defective right out of the box. For a test you can turn off power to the air handler. Remove the wires going to the R and G thermostat terminals. Twist the ends of the two wires together, turn power back on and see if the fan will come on.

Also, double check the G wire at the thermostat and inside the air handler to make sure the connections are solid.
 
  #12  
Old 01-11-15, 03:54 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i twisted the two wires together and nothing yet... i did turn the power back on. do i need to wait at all? i know it was working fine this morning before the old thermostat was removed.
 
  #13  
Old 01-11-15, 03:59 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since the fan did not start with the R and G wires twisted together it sounds like you have a problem other than the thermostat. You probably have a blown 3 amp automotive blade type fuse in the air handler. When you changed the thermostat was the power shut off for the air handler? In your first post you stated the fan wouldn't come on. Did the condenser outside come on when you set the thermostat to heat?
 
  #14  
Old 01-11-15, 04:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes when i changed the thermostat i shut down the power going to it. also no when i switch it to heat or cool i get absolutely nothing. i checked outside to there is nothing turning on at all
 
  #15  
Old 01-11-15, 04:05 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I would check for an automotive type fuse in the air handler to see if it has blown.
 
Attached Images  
  #16  
Old 01-11-15, 04:12 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok ill check it out as soon as i get a chance. thanks for your help!
 
  #17  
Old 01-11-15, 04:15 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you get a chance post the model number of your air handler so a wiring diagram can be accessed to check for a fuse.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: