Goodman furnace- fan continues to run

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-15, 08:17 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman furnace- fan continues to run

I am the owner of a 9 yr old Goodman ARUF048-00a-1a
What I am experiencing?
The fan will not shut off after meeting temperature demand set on thermostat.

We have 2 zones in house therefore we have 2 thermostats.
T-Stat troubleshooting went like this.
Removed T-stat from zone where we were not experiencing Fan continuously running. Set temp up....> Heated zone to temp per T-stat.
Fan did not shut off.
Attempted to use OFF position to turn off fan.
Fan did not shut off.
We then Removed "Test" t-stat and returned to other zone in house.
Checked Test t-stat for shutting off fan on other Zone.
Fan shut off.

What could be the problem?.
After reading several threads I have noted two possible causes
Sequencer...??
Electronic Blower Time Delay Relay ??
Are there others?

Which should I start with first?
Is there a way to test for faults?
How do I approach troubleshooting this puzzle?

Thanks for your reply in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-18-15, 09:29 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Are you saying that the thermostat in question operates the fan correctly when place in the other zone?
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-15, 10:59 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@houston204

No
See other post
I have to get used to using this forum
Sorry
 

Last edited by VeryHandyMan; 01-18-15 at 11:05 AM. Reason: changed
  #4  
Old 01-18-15, 11:03 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No

Imagine 2 t-stats in one house same Honeywell Mod.
Removed the t-stat operating the unit where the fan does not shut off
Replaced with other from different zone.
Running in Auto, attempted to use OFF on replaced t-stat
Did not turn off fan.
Removed the "Test" t-stat from other zone moved back to original place.
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-15, 11:27 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You put me back into testing
I just took what you are referring to as the T-stat in question removed it and replaced the other zone T-stat with it.
Turned the fan on and turned the fan off.
So it is "presumably" not the t-stat

Next steps are in controls in Air handler cabinet?
If my logic serves us properly.
LOL

Thank for your reply in advance
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-15, 12:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
If you have two stats controlling a common heating system.... then you have a zone controller. It's near the furnace where all the wires connect. What is the make and model of it ?
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-15, 01:59 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We don't have the arrangement you describe
We have 2 DX units outside and 2 air handlers in the attic
They are discrete and do not in any way shape or form communicate with each other
 
  #8  
Old 01-18-15, 03:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
We have 2 zones in house therefore we have 2 thermostats.
That would be..... we have two systems in our house therefore we have 2 thermostats.

Two zones imply a shared system.

Does the blower stay on low speed and switch to high when FAN ON is selected at the thermostat ?
The following is the schematic for your unit. Click on the diagram to view at photobucket. In the upper right hand at photobucket are picture tools like enlarge picture.

 
  #9  
Old 01-19-15, 04:10 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The T-stats operate the 2 units independently.
They are ducted independently
No air sharing involved.
Sorry of the confusion
The blower does not change speeds, it runs continuously that is all.
I have viewed the diagram prior to coming to the forum

I have 3 heating elements in my air handler.
All electric house.
 

Last edited by VeryHandyMan; 01-19-15 at 04:14 AM. Reason: added comment
  #10  
Old 01-19-15, 05:43 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,618
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
If the units are the same model you might try swapping the EBTDR and see if the problem is resolved that way.
Just a thought.
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 01-24-15, 04:03 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem resolved
Replaced PCB today
All is well
Thanks
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: