Thermostat wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-15, 09:36 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 400
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat wiring

I had new 5 ton 2 stage package heat pump system installed and the old had a 7 wire set up at thermostat..C,E,W2,,O,R,G,y1.
The new system has a low and a high cool y1/y2 along with the w1/w2 heat
,comes with the R,O,G,C.

It has a 8 wire set up on diagram and im trying to figure out if i need to run a new wire for the y2 or if i can continue using it with the 7wire set up.
I have a new thermostat to look at wiring but need to know if ill need the other wire added.And if the new thermostat has to have both y1/y2/ two stage

I also jumpered the E with the w2 for emergency heat..

The new thermostat im wanting to install (RiteTempt 6030 flush in wall type) has a jumper inside that when u want emergency heat u change the jumper -can i use that E wire then for y2?
-any info is appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-15, 10:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,667
Received 909 Votes on 849 Posts
Y2 is second stage cooling. So you wouldn't connect that line to a heat terminal.

With multiple stages come multiple wires. Looks like you'll need that 8th wire.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-15, 05:42 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,616
Received 56 Votes on 52 Posts
Looks like you have the option of using the wire from the C terminal for the Y2 connection if you install batteries,remove the wire from the C terminal on both ends and land it on Y2 at both ends.
Just a thought
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-15, 09:05 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Name:  Ritetemp 6030.jpg
Views: 800
Size:  49.5 KB

Are you referring to the air handler diagram?

I would wire as shown on page 20 and add Y2.

Connect the unused wire to Y2 at both ends.
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-15, 01:04 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 400
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
im refering to this set up -page 25-2 STAGE-but i dont see 8th wire on it i do have a O wire .also see it has optional power .Also to get E heat it says i can change inside jumper page 27
thanks
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by trotter; 01-26-15 at 02:18 PM.
  #6  
Old 01-27-15, 05:21 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
If you have a heat pump you are looking at the wrong diagram. You will greatly increase the heating bill if you connect a heat strip to W with a heat pump. This would bring in electric heat for stage 1 heat.

I don't think that I have ever seen a roll of 7 conductor thermostat wire. Chances are high that you have 8 conductors pulled to the stat. You do not actually need 8 conductors.
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-15, 08:11 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 400
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the older pump had 7 wires-both ends too- here is a pic of both ends.
It was NOT a 2 stage .and no heat kit was with it either.
-diagram to new shows 8 wire..the chart on the right side applies to it.

-so your saying even though i have 2 stage heat now and 2 stage cool not to go by the 2 stage heat cool diagram on page 25?(its for non heat pump systems?)

also on email im now being told its not compatable..they have no phone support
 
Attached Images    
  #8  
Old 01-27-15, 12:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Connecting to W can cost you several hundreds of dollars per year with a heat pump.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: