Intertherm furnace help


  #1  
Old 02-01-15, 02:12 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Intertherm furnace help

The fused circuit breaker went bad on furnace. I replaced it. The furnace wouldn't work so I had to replace the sequencer. After doing that the furnace started working but the element kept clicking on and off. So I replaced the limit switch. But the elements continue to click on and off even after the cycle is finished. It is an electric intertherm furnace model #012h. The heat comes on and shuts of correctly with the thermostat but the burner element continues to click off and on like every minute or sol Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

Last edited by Pauline109; 02-01-15 at 02:15 PM. Reason: left out a few words
  #2  
Old 02-01-15, 03:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,649
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It would appear that you still have a sequencer problem.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-15, 06:09 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The sequencer is turned around as to the one I took off. m1 and m2 were turned the opposite of the one I took off, so I followed the wiring diagram for the furnace instead of replacing it the way it came off. Example m1 is where m2 was on the old one. Should I have put it back the way it was instead of following the diagram. It would just make sense to me that m1 would have to go back on m1.
 
  #4  
Old 02-01-15, 06:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,649
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
Can you post the part number for the sequencer ?
 
  #5  
Old 02-01-15, 06:19 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The one I took of is309591. The new one is661449.
 
  #6  
Old 02-01-15, 06:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,649
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
I'm trying to find the specs between the two units.

Normally when a replacement is made..... the labeling on the part..... not the actual location... is followed.
 
  #7  
Old 02-01-15, 06:54 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is what I did. I suppose sometimes we can buy parts that are defective. Also when I look into the burners, the bottom one doesn't appear to burn as well as the top one. Is there a chance that the elements themselves could be causing the problem.
 
  #8  
Old 02-01-15, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,649
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
By burners..... do you mean electric heating element ?
You normally can't see them.
 
  #9  
Old 02-01-15, 10:10 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes I do mean the heating element, I took the plate off under the burners to try to look inside and see if they were both burning. As I said the top one was heating really well but the one on the bottom seemed not to burn all the way. Not sure of how they look when the blower is on, it just didn't appear as bright as the top one.
 
  #10  
Old 02-02-15, 01:15 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,726
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Do you have other numbers in the model number before 012H such as E2EB or E3EB?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: