Wiring a Goodman packaged heat pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-15, 10:32 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a Goodman packaged heat pump

Hello i am new here and would appreciate some help. i recently purchased a Goodman GPH1336H41 a package unit with a heat pump. my question is on the wiring for the electrical. my heat pump has a 50 amp and a 25 amp breaker in it. i am going to have an electrician hook it up but to save some money im going to run the lines and get the equipment for him. it appears to me it will need 2 220 circuits. my question is do i need 2 disconnects for this or is there a disconnect that will work for 2 circuits? and do i bring it off of a 50 amp and a 25 amp breaker off of my main panel? any information is appreciated. thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-15, 04:13 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
The voltage is nominal at 240 volts, but who's counting Yes, two separate circuits and two separate disconnects. You can use pull disconnects rather than breakers if you wish. The Overcurrent Protection will be the breakers in your panel. Be sure to provide water tight whips for the installer/electrician from the disconnects to the unit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-15, 05:32 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,618
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
Follow the mfg. Recommendation a fused disconnect in site of the unit,but your breakers will serve that requirement,so just a pull out type disconnect will work there,follow their spec's for wire size.

Geo
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-15, 09:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,678
Received 913 Votes on 853 Posts
Total Unit Amps - 20.06A
Min. Circuit Ampacity - 24.1A
Max. Overcurrent Protection - 40A

I'd use #10 for the heat pump section on a 2P30A breaker.

Wire size for heat section based on heater kit provided.
Heater kits
HKR-05*, HKR-05C*.... 25/min ckt A,,, 25/max OCP
HKR-08*, HKR-08C*.... 36/min ckt A,,, 40/max OCP
HKR-10*, HKR-10C*.... 49/min ckt A,,, 50/max OCP
HKP-15C*....,............. 49/min ckt A,,, 50/max OCP
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-15, 12:29 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
depending on the run you might need a 30 amp and a 60 amp breaker at the main. and the correct wire size to handle it.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: