Goodman A30-10 outside unit running, inside intermittent

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-15, 02:35 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman A30-10 outside unit running, inside intermittent

I have a Goodman A30-10 unit that the outside unit runs, but the air handler inside doesn't always come on. I am assuming this is a blower time delay relay, which I already have the part (#B1370738). But upon looking inside the unit it appears there are are two sequencers. Nothing I see matches the BTDR part that I have. HELP!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-15, 02:56 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I would expect a sequencer and a fan relay with that old model number.

Does your wiring diagram show that time delay fan relay?
Is that air handler from the 80's?
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-15, 02:59 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
unit was installed in 2000
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-15, 03:03 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is the BTDR on the outside unit? I deducted from another thread that the BTDR was the problem, but i could be wrong. I tested the thermostat and don't believe that is the problem.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-15, 03:51 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,618
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
What type of Tstat are you using?I believe the sequencers are only in the electric heat section.will the blower start if the fan is switched to ON on the Tsat?
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-15, 06:05 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the blower starts with the Tstat set to on. It also blows when set to EMERGENCY. I am beginning to think it might be the Tstat.
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-15, 08:07 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,618
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
So this appears to be a heat pump,will the fan start switched to auto when there is a call for Aux and also Eme? Does everything work in the cooling mode?
What type of Tstat?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-15, 10:35 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure about the Tstat, other than it is none programmable digital. We did have a problem with it frosting over this past summer. The thing is, it is intermittent. Sometimes it works when set to auto, sometimes it doesn't. I first noticed the other day that the outside unit was running, but inside wasn't. The copper piping coming from outside was extremely hot.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-15, 11:28 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the Tstat is a White-Rodgers digital, installed with the unit in 2000
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-15, 01:32 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,618
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
That pipe being hot would indicate you were in heating mode from the condenser,does the cooling cycle work correctly,can't find a wiring Dia. For that unit.
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 02-05-15, 02:56 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finding a wiring diagram is a challenge for all of us. Talked with two guys at HVAC place and none of us could find wiring diagram. There is a diagram on the unit cover. The cooling was working this summer, but freezes over occasionally
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: