Possible to Increase Evap Coil from 2.5 to 3 Ton?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-15, 09:06 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,952
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Possible to Increase Evap Coil from 2.5 to 3 Ton?

I asked this question in another post of mine, but the thread started out as something different and I think all of my questions made the thread a bit overwhelming so I'm starting a new thread.

Question is, can I increase the coil size of a Goodman ARUF303016CA air handler from a 2.5 ton to a 3.0 ton? Other than the blower width (8" for 3030 and 6" for 3636), which I could conceivably switch out if necessary (don't think it's necessary) all other electrical and mechanical specs are identical. If not, please explain in detail.
 

Last edited by mossman; 02-11-15 at 09:59 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-15, 02:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,952
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I contacted Goodman, and of course they were of no help. They won't provide homeowners with technical information. Such BS . Consumers have the right to know this type of information. It keeps companies honest. Otherwise, there is no way to verify if what someone is telling you is truthful. We're talking about a potential cost difference of a couple thousand dollars between replacing just the coil or getting a new air handler. It's not right. Guess I'll just stick with my undersized 2.5 ton system.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-15, 02:38 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why do you want to increase the A coil? Just curious.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-15, 05:28 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
You will get little, if any, increased cooling if the outdoor unit is 2.5 ton.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-15, 07:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,952
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I believe the unit is undersized for the home. Maybe it isn't. I'll have to get a load calculation done. Regardless, I am curious if it is possible to increase the coil size if it turns out I do need a 3 ton unit. I will be replacing the heat pump this year (it is 12 years old).
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-15, 12:50 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
At 12 years old, the existing coil is likely a good bit smaller in phyiscal size than a new three ton. I doubt it would fit. I would think a Goodman dealer or distributor could tell you even if Goodman will not. I'm sure you would have to increase the blower size as well & the throat size would probably be larger.

Sorry I can't give you an absolute yes or no answer but trying to help as best I can.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: