Diagnose electrical heat on Goodman system

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-15, 08:51 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Diagnose electrical heat on Goodman system

Hello,

I installed a 4 Ton 15 Seer Goodman Heat Pump System (SSZ140481, AVPTC42601) with a 15 kW - HKA-15C heat-kit last summer. The pumps cool and heat stages are working great, however, the emergency electric heat kit is not working. Unfortunately, since this was anew unit, I never thought I would have a problem with the heat-kit. I really need to figure out why the emergency heat is not working, since we are seeing really cold weather here in Virginia and the heat pump is not able to keep up.

So, the emergency heat never did work since the unit was installed, and I am wondering if the wiring is correct. Here is my first initial wiring of the units:

Name:  Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 11.19.21 PM.jpg
Views: 1040
Size:  28.2 KB

When I place the thermostats in emergency heat, the fan turns on, but the electric heat does not get energized. I waited for few minutes to make sure it is not a delay issue. After that I tried the following wiring, but it did not make a difference.

Name:  Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 11.24.40 PM.jpg
Views: 5614
Size:  40.5 KB

What's the chances this new heat-kit unit was defective to start with, not wired correctly from factory. The following wiring diagram is what I followed for wiring the kit, which came with the breakers already wired; it is the "FOUR (4) ELEMENT ROWS" kit in the top right corner.

Name:  Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 11.32.46 PM.jpg
Views: 1430
Size:  56.4 KB

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot the electrical heat kit on this unit. If it helps this is the PCB on this handler:

Name:  Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 11.47.00 PM.jpg
Views: 822
Size:  45.6 KB

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-15, 07:42 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,620
Received 57 Votes on 53 Posts
It's hard to read the drawings what type of stat do you have ,have you tried jumping R to E at the stat to see if that pulls in the heat?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-15, 08:04 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 247
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The drawings are confusing, but it appears that the control board has W1 and W2 terminals. What is connected to them ?

I'd try jumping the fan, G, to each then both of W1, W2 , to see whether/which heaters come on (use G rather than R because you don't want the heaters on except when there's airflow) to discover if the heaters are properly activated by the control board.
 
  #4  
Old 02-17-15, 08:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,733
Received 924 Votes on 863 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Do you have a voltmeter ?
You need to check for 24vac between terminal 1 and 3.
You need to check for 24vac between terminal 2 and 3.


Name:  good.JPG
Views: 473
Size:  44.5 KB
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-15, 09:33 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello Geo,

I did jump R to E and found the same results. I will try to upload better images.

Thank you so much for the reply.
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-15, 10:05 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding better images

Thank you all for your responses. I hope these images are more clear than the other ones.
 
Attached Images         
  #7  
Old 02-17-15, 10:09 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
dsomerv,

W1 is connected to thermostat W1 and W2 is connected to thermostat E.
I will let you know once I get into the crawlspace what I get by jumping G to W1 and W2.

Thank you very much!
 
  #8  
Old 02-17-15, 10:12 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax,

Thanks for the welcome!

I do have a voltmeter. I will let you know shortly the readings on the terminals.

I really appreciate your help!
 
  #9  
Old 02-17-15, 11:03 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,733
Received 924 Votes on 863 Posts
The board limits the size of pictures which is why yours are pretty much useless. You need to post them on a hosting site (like photobucket) and then link them here.
 
  #10  
Old 02-17-15, 02:10 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

I found the problem. As I was trying to check the voltages on W1 and W2, I noticed that the common (blue) contact was not seated all the way in the plug, so I pushed it until it snapped into place, plugged the adapter back on the PCB and could smell the heat-kit burning the dust for the first time since it was installed.

BTW, I left a jumper in place between W1 and W2, on the PCB side, as it was shown indicated by one of the diagrams. The emergency heat did not seem to work without this jumper in place.

Name:  20150217_152139.jpg
Views: 405
Size:  19.7 KB

I will keep in mind to use a hosting site to post the photos next time.

Thank you everyone for your all the help on resolving this issue, I really appreciate it very much!
 
  #11  
Old 02-19-15, 10:00 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 247
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
good find !
 
  #12  
Old 02-19-15, 11:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,733
Received 924 Votes on 863 Posts
Leaving the jumper in place should bring on both sets of coils unless one set isn't working which would explain why emergency heat isn't working.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: