Heat pump condenser/compressor not coming on in heat mode

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-26-15, 07:39 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heat pump condenser/compressor not coming on in heat mode

I have a heat pump and the condenser/compressor will not come on in heat mode, only the auxiliary heat strips are activated. The condenser/compressor will come on in A/C mode but not heat mode. I have a new Carrier thermostat from my local utility and the condenser/compressor is receiving the signal in heat mode. Any ideas? Are there known problems with newer thermostats and 30 year old units (Amana)?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-26-15, 09:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,181 Votes on 1,094 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The heat pump and the air conditioning both work the same way. The only difference is when in cool mode a reversing valve is activated.

It sounds like your thermostat wasn't programmed for heat pump operation with back up heat.
 
  #3  
Old 02-26-15, 09:39 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Pete. The technician checked the settings and also installed a second thermostat and the same thing happened.
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-15, 09:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,181 Votes on 1,094 Posts
The only other problem I can think of is the condensor unit is stuck in defrost mode.
 
  #5  
Old 02-26-15, 10:52 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, I just talked to a HVAC friend and he suggested I run the heat on emergency only. When I did the condenser/compressor came on. There is a wiring problem with the thermostat. I will call the technician tomorrow.
 
  #6  
Old 02-26-15, 11:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,181 Votes on 1,094 Posts
It's definitely wired wrong. Putting the thermostat in emergency mode is supposed to lock out the condensor from running.
 
  #7  
Old 02-27-15, 12:09 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The techs came back and determined the new thermostat was not compatible with the old heat pump and they put put my old thermostat back on. Thanks for the help.
 
  #8  
Old 02-27-15, 04:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,181 Votes on 1,094 Posts
That makes sense. Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: