heat pump issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-15, 07:48 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
heat pump issues

I've been reading posts to try and find a problem like ours but couldn't. We just moved in last month and are having problems with the heat and AC.

We have a Payne heat Pump, Model PH13NR024.. mfg date was dec 2012 so I assume its 3 years since installed. the thermostat is a honeywell th5220D and the air handler is a Carrier FB4ANF024.

the house was a relatives, and they had everything installed around 3 years ago. Shortly after, they became ill and spent their last 2 years in a nursing home. So, the house has sat empty for 2 years at least with only the heat being used in the winter to keep the pipes from bursting. I was told the temp was set on 50.

His son said the ac would freeze you out but now it will not even cut on.

Here's what it does. When I cut the AC on and set it to a number lower than the current temp.(it was 78 so I set it to 70) The heat pump outside cut on but the blower inside never turned on. I also tried it at a temp closer to the 78. I could heat the thermostat clicking but no blower.

If I turn everything off and set just the fan to on, the fan on the blower will not turn on.

If I turn on the heat, the outside heat pump will turn on for a couple minutes then switch to aux heat and blower will come on and outside pump will turn off at same time.
Its like the fan will only work in aux heat mode and thats the only way we can have heat, which I've read is VERY expensive.

I'm new to the heat pump thing but have been reading and learning as much as possible to try and figure this out. To me, it seems like maybe the thermostat or maybe a control board somewhere, maybe in the air handler is mal-functioning, or maybe it was installed wrong in the first place.

I've checked all the wires on the thermostat and they're wired as they should be per the manual. We also had someone look at it and they said it was the capacitor at the air handler, so we replaced that. Still no AC or normal heat

So, to recap:

heat/cool off..fan on-no blower fan
cool on...no blower fan but everything is on outside in heatpump and you can hear it pumping freon thru lines
heat on...heatpump turns on outside, switches to aux heat then blower comes on and heatpump turns off

my background is in electronics so if it involved board swapping or something of that nature, I'd love to be able to save some money here. Any idea where to start?
 
  #2  
Old 11-17-15, 08:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If it was the capacitor..... the blower would never work properly. So that ends that theory.

Does your stat have a FAN ON mode switch. If yes.... does that work ?

If not..... you're handy.... try this. Go to the air handler. Locate the thermostat wiring area.
Temporarily connect a jumper between the R and the G terminal. Does the blower run now ?


Here's the manual for your air handler..... download it and save it so you have it. It has an excellent diagnostic/servicing section that should find easy to follow.

hvac partners/docs/1009/Public/0D/SM03-5.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 11-18-15, 10:04 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it has a fan on switch but it doesn't cut the fan on. The fan will only cut on in aux mode. I'll try that with the jumper and also download the manual.

thanks for the suggestions
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-15, 01:42 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[IMG][/IMG]

been a little busy but its getting cold so I need to get this fixed. First, I downloaded the manual but it didnt cover the fan relay I have - HK61EA002, but I did manage to find another manual with it.

second, after opening the air handler and finding the thermostat wires, I'm questioning which wires I should jump because of the wiring colors. On the relay board, the 4 connectors labeled R G T C have red going to R, Grey going to G, red going to T, and what looks like 2 older dark red/brown and one dark brown going to C.

In the wiring from thermostat it looks like the green was spliced to grey, red to red, cyan to older red/brown. Just wanting to be clear on which to jump because of the wire colors used to connect to the board



so, to be clear, do I jump the red, which is coming from thermostat to green/grey spliced one ?

[IMG][/IMG]
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-15, 01:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
On the relay board, the 4 connectors labeled R G T C
There is a universal standard for wiring colors but it's not always followed.

The letters are always the same. A jumper from R to G like I posted in my last post.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-15, 02:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just tried it and nothing happened
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-15, 02:15 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Carrier uses grey for their G wire at the air handler. Connect the R wire to the grey wire.

You have practically proven that you need a new board.

Turn off power and swap black (N.O.)and blue (N.C.)on the fan relay.

 
  #8  
Old 12-20-15, 02:32 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
turn off the power to the furnace (breaker) or the power to the fan thats plugged into an outlet?
 
  #9  
Old 12-20-15, 02:43 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok, that was easy enough, turned off both. Switched wires n when I turned switch back on fan worked. fan relay board?
 
  #10  
Old 12-20-15, 10:10 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Yes, replace the fan control board "PCB".
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: