Goodman and Honeywell - Auxiliary Heat Always On

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-15, 11:53 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Goodman and Honeywell - Auxiliary Heat Always On

I have a Goodman air handler unit (Mod # AWUF361016BA) and heat pump. I've tried two different thermostats, the present one being a Honeywell RTHL3550. With both thermostats, whenever I turn on the heat, the auxiliary heat comes on within a minute or two. No matter the temperature I set the thermostat to, even when the set temp is within a degree of the thermostat house temp, the heat strips come on. Since this has been the case with two thermostats, I'm thinking the thermostat wiring is not correct. I'm including some pics for verifying the wiring. I would sure appreciate it if someone could verify this wiring or give me some pointers. Last winter's power bills were horrendous.

Here are pics for more detail:

Air Handler Details


Air Handler Schematic


Honeywell Thermostat


Honeywell Thermostat Wiring


Thermostat Wiring at Air Handler
 
  #2  
Old 12-01-15, 01:06 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On the Honeywell RTHL3550 make sure the settings are correct:

Function 1 is set to 5.
Function 2 is set to 0.
Function 3 is set to 1.
Function 5 is set to 9.
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-15, 04:13 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have all of those functions available. Here's what I have:

Function 1 - 5
Function 2 - 0
Function 6 - 9
Function 12 - 0
Function 14 - 0
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-15, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
Your picture of the base shows E and AUX as a combined terminal.
The 3550 programming shows two separate terminals.

Have you gotten the stats and bases mixed ?
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-15, 10:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No that's the correct base. The previous thermostat I tried was a Honeywell RTH2410. Different bases.

Here's the wiring page from the Installation Guide.
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-15, 10:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,398
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
I'm trying to find that exact booklet. None of the online manuals match that one. They show different wiring terminals and different programming. I even looked up the D model. It looks like the printed manuals were updated but the online ones were not.

Try disconnecting the white wire at the stat and see if the electric heat stays off.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: