Installed new Honeywell RLV3100A to replace old knob thermostat.. questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-15, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Installed new Honeywell RLV3100A to replace old knob thermostat.. questions

Hello,
I have an 8 foot baseboard heater and picked up a Honeywell RLV3100A to replace the ancient knob thermostat that was totally inaccurate and at times caused the heat to never come on, or stay on until the room was burning hot.. Nevertheless it's gone.. It as a 4 wire with ground attachment setup.. The new thermostat is 2 wire. I pushed the ground back into the box since there is no attachment for it on the new plastic unit (the main ground wire going downstairs is still attached to the electrical box itself) and wire nutted the 2 white wires together, and wired the 2 blacks to the thermostat. It has its own beaker so I am able to shut it off safely when off season. I'm assuming it's still safe and breaker protected since the ground is running to the box (but no longer to the thermostat itself since it's plastic I'm assuming?).



Anyway that aside it works great but I do have a few questions.
Before I ask the questions I'll note that it has icons for flames, from 0 - 5 flames. 5 flames is 100% heating activated, and anything less is partial.. 0 is off.

Once it reaches the desired temp, say 70, it usually goes down to 1 flame as it should and holds the temp right there very accurately. My concern is that it sounds like it's cycling on and off every 15 seconds or so to do that. The old unit either had 100% on or 100% off, and you can clearly hear the pinging noises from the metal heating / cooling. With the old unit it only did that once every 15 or 30 mins or so presumably because of the 5 to 10 degree swing range of the old POS thermostat.
With the new one, I can hear the sounds it used to make every 15 to 30 mins now every 15 seconds only once it reaches the desired temp and has only 1 or 2 flames on the display. Does it maintain slight heat by on-off? or does it actually send less wattage to the unit?

Is the constant cycling safe and normal?

Also note that at 5 flames it heats up just like the it used to.. makes the noises until it warms up then stays on until reaching desired temp.. (not every 15 seconds as when it goes down to partial power to maintain)

Also note:
Someone on Amazon said the cycling is normal and that's how it maintains precise temp control..

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-15, 09:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,892
Received 257 Votes on 242 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I could not locate any info on the workings of that stat. It is very possible it cycles the power to keep the heat up.

You can also contact Honeywell directly and check with them.
customer/honeywell/request.cfm?form=69-1917EF
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-15, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.. tried them already, they don't seem to be of any help.. Otherwise it's working great.. Keeps the temperature dead on as advertised.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: