Goodman fan and heat strips run constantly

Old 12-27-15, 09:59 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman fan and heat strips run constantly

Hello,

I work in the apartment maintenance field (10 years exp) and just started a new property. The trouble is over the years there have been numerous techs that seemed to just want to put a bandaid on everything instead of just fixing the problem.

I got a call Friday to come fix the A/C (its 75 here in December wow!) and came upon a problem that I havent encountered before. The resident had set it to cool and it was doing that, but the heat strips were going at the same time. Upon further inspection, I noticed that the fan and the strips were running continuously, no matter what setting you had it on.

In my understanding, this seems to be a sequencer issue. The board, or EBTDR also looked to be in bad shape as someone had broken the mounting feet off of it and it was just kinda dangling in there. I changed the sequencer, and the problem still persisted. I put a new board in after that and popped it in its proper place and still the problem continues.

Could I have just grabbed a bad sequencer? I have never had a new one just not work, but I suppose its possible. As I said above, Im new there and want to make a good impression.

Old 12-27-15, 11:11 AM
S
What's the model numbers?

Old 12-27-15, 11:22 AM
B
I will have to get back to you on that tomorrow after work. I disconnected the heat strips and the resident said they can use the breaker to turn it on/off until then. Thank you for the reply!

Old 12-27-15, 12:18 PM
B
OK so yall dont think im lazy I went back to the property and the Model Numbers are as Follows: Air Handler-Goodman AWUF240816AA
Outdoor Unit: Goodman GSH130241AC

All 254 Units have the same equipment in them so I imagine I will encounter this again sometime. Oh its gonna be so much fun converting these to 410-A!

Old 12-27-15, 02:09 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,418 Votes on 1,311 Posts