Electric Heat For Garage

Old 01-04-16, 07:35 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric Heat For Garage

Hello everyone. I was wondering if someone here could give me some ideas on how to go about warming up our garage during the winter months (in Pennsylvania). Our garage is roughly around 500 square feet. We own a split level home, and we have central heating. Our garage has one heating vent in it, but it's not quite enough to warm the garage up to a comfortable level.

My wife and I were talking about the different options we could use. She's not big on the idea of kerosene bc of the fumes etc. I'm not huge on the idea of using propane bc I've never used propane before, and would be afraid of doing something that would lead to an explosion So, we are looking to go with something that's electric.

The main problem we're running into with our electric heater search is that most of the ones we've seen all require a 220v outlet. We have 220v in the house bc of our dryer and stove, but no 220 outlet in the garage. Are there any good heaters that we could use that don't require 220v? It wouldn't be something we'd be running 24/7 either. We just need something to warm up the garage while we're out there using the exercise equipment.

Any advice is definitely appreciated, and thank you in advance.

Old 01-04-16, 08:08 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
It's easy enough to run a 220V line. Is the breaker box in the garage? Is the garage insulated?

Old 01-04-16, 08:30 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The main problem we're running into with our electric heater search is that most of the ones we've seen all require a 220v outlet.
That is because of the limits of a 120 volt circuit. As Pulpo suggested you are going to need a 240 volt heater for any significant heat.

Terminology: Your house has a nominal voltage of 240 volts not 220 volts. The so called 220 volt heaters are intended to work on 240 volts.

Last edited by ray2047; 01-05-16 at 09:32 AM.
Old 01-04-16, 09:22 AM