Outside unit doesn't turn on with new thermostat.

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-16, 01:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outside unit doesn't turn on with new thermostat.

Hello,

I replaced an old mercury type thermostat with a new digital RTH2510B1000A thermostat. The old thermostat had wires going to the o,c,g,y,w,and r terminals. I was told to hook them all up to the new thermostat except the wire that used to run to the c terminal. I taped the blue wire that used to run to the c terminal off and tried turning the unit on, but now the blower work's but the outside unit doesn't.

Thank's for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-16, 02:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,254
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
Did you program the stat for type of system ?

Manual in case you don't have it... manual/RTH2510B.pdf

advanced function settings
1 -----> 1
5 -----> 6
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-16, 03:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey thank's that fixed it perfectly. One more question though, the thermostat says heat on and aux on. Isn't the aux the emergency heat? That shouldn't be on should it? It's pretty warm outside here right now.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: