Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

old climatemaster classic compressor shuts down after 3 minutes

CAL

06-21-16, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)  
old climatemaster classic compressor shuts down after 3 minutes

Hello All,

I have an old climatemaster geo classic and it is about 15-20 years old. Recently the unit has an issue. When I turn on it (cold), the unit turn on fine, but after 3 minutes or so the compressor shuts down, but the fan and everything running. I called the certified technician and he charged me for just replacing a Cap ($425). I was pissed off, but couldn't do anything. So he left and the unit is the way it was before the tech arrived. So basically the so called certified tech could not do anything, but just stole my money and left.

So now would like to see if anybody has any idea about what is wrong with my unit. I believe the both pumping in and out pump which pump water t the unit works fine. Does anybody have any idea.

The unit is a climatemaster geo classic and it is about 15-20 years old and uses water from the ground to cool the house.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

TX

06-21-16, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)  
This post belongs in the heat pump section.

Most Climatemaster Genesis geothermal units will tell you why they lock out. Not sure about Classic models.

Get a small screwdriver and lightly short the two "test" terminals for 3 to 5 seconds.

The LED will click a few times to tell you that you have a FP1, FP2 or CO fault.

I would expect the CO fault indicating a clogged drain.

Most AC techs are not qualified to work on Geo units.
I sometimes drive from Houston to Washington TX, Conroe, or Wharton to service Geothermal equipment because the homeowners cannot find local companies that can service this type of equipment.