McQuay water source heat pump with standing water in condensate tray


  #1  
Old 11-30-16, 05:28 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
McQuay water source heat pump with standing water in condensate tray

We have an older McQuay water source heat pump. It has standing water in tray. It does not completely fill up, but has about 1/4 inch of water. The tray has big flakes of rust and crud. I vacuumed it out and also cleaned the drain pipe. The machine is in a supply closet on a rack sitting about 3 feet above the floor. It is level front to back. I even jacked it up about 3/4 inch in the rear in an effort to get the pain to drain. I'm concerned it will rust out. I'm still not able to get it to empty completely, but there is less water in it. Will it harm the machine to have it tilted a little? I am unable to jack it up any higher as the ducts are above it and are rigid and will get crushed. Thanks. Dave
 
  #2  
Old 11-30-16, 09:06 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,872
Received 1,480 Votes on 1,368 Posts
If you're talking about a pan underneath the air handler.... there shouldn't be water in it.
It's there as a safety in case the pan inside the unit overflows.

A picture or two would be helpful to see what you have there. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-16, 09:44 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is actually a small metal tray that sits inside the machine under the condenser. It has a drain pipe attached to it. The condenser pan is rusty and always has some amount of water in it. After the ac shut off, I let it stay off for 2 hours, and the tray had about " in it.
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-16, 10:09 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
It is normal for some water to sit in the primary drain pan under the evaporator coil. ( the cold coil)

Most geothermal heat pumps have an internal or external p-trap. Cleaning out this trap with your shop vac might reduce the amount of water a small amount.

Post the model number of your Geo unit.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-16, 04:55 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a McQuay FCV048BGML water source heat pump. Uses water from the building in a loop for cooling. Thanks for any advice you can give. It is under evaporator
 
  #6  
Old 12-03-16, 05:49 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I didn't have any luck bringing up a decent manual for that unit. Is it very old?
 
  #7  
Old 12-03-16, 06:09 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 754
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It says 1998 on label. I think the new company is either Dalkin or Daikin?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: