Frequent aux heat usage

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-16, 05:36 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Frequent aux heat usage

Hello I'm not sure if my thermostat is functioning correctly or not it seems to be relying a lot on the auxiliary heat. The temperature had been dropping down in the teens here lately and I though that could be the issue but every time my heat will run for about a minute or two then the thermostat will kick the aux on and continue to run for several minutes before shutting off at the programmed 65F. My unit is a Bryant 2 ton with heat pump and the thermostat is a Honeywell rthl2500 thermostat and there are 2 wires that aren't connected to it(brown & black)could that have anything to do with it? I installed the thermostat this summer. I posted some pics of the thermostat and manual to see if anyone could find anything wrong.
https://i.imgsafe.org/c03c80ff9b.jpg
https://i.imgsafe.org/c03c1861f2.jpg
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-16, 07:25 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do you set the stat down at night and turn it back up in the morning?
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-16, 07:38 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No it stays set at 65 at all times at the moment does anyone have experience with Bryant wiring colors from what I've found it looks like I have 3 common wires( brown black and blue) which can't be correct.
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-16, 09:48 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you post the model number?
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-16, 11:13 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm at work at the moment, but I can if they consider the blue wire as just B it looks like shouldn't be used with this thermostat since I have the orange wire according to the manual I will try it when I get home
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-16, 12:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,635
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
The wiring colors don't necessarily mean a thing. The color could be assigned any function.

You need to go to the air handler..... locate where the thermostat wires enter the unit..... remove the service door and visually see where they are connected.

What model stat is that...... rthl2500 ???

Your wiring could be neatened up and the white and blue wires in W/Aux does not look correct.

Name:  c03c80ff9b.jpg
Views: 228
Size:  26.8 KB

The stat also needs to be programmed for heat pump with aux heat.
 
  #7  
Old 12-10-16, 01:17 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just got home and opened it up and there is no B wire connected on the board, and where it comes into the unit it looks like the blue wire is spliced into the white wire, its. 664anx unit
https://i.imgsafe.org/c7068480a2.jpg
https://i.imgsafe.org/c70640ab98.jpg
 
  #8  
Old 12-10-16, 01:23 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The thermostat is set for a heat pump with aux backup
 
  #9  
Old 12-10-16, 01:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,635
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
So you can tape off the blue at the stat.

The heat pump should run and stay running even if the heat strips come on. The heat strips will come on when the actual room temperature is three or more degrees below the setpoint.

What you could try is to just run the heat pump...... temporarily disconnect the white wire and see what happens.
 
  #10  
Old 12-10-16, 01:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok I taped off the blue wire and left the white in the aux port tried increasing the temp by 1 degree and heat came on and ran without the auxiliary coming on, tried increasing it 5 degrees and the auxiliary heat came on like its supposed to, guess I'll ok find out tonight if it's working right
 
  #11  
Old 12-10-16, 02:10 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
http://dms.hvacpartners.com/docs/100...664A.24.1B.pdf

Looks like you have a 20 year old package unit.
There is a decent diagram in the heat pump manual.

The newer Honeywell Redlink VisionPro TH8320R and TH8321R allow you to adjust the demand required before the heat strips become energized. The savings from this function can pay for the thermostat in one season.

This function is not available on the RTH2510 or RTH2410.
http://pdf.lowes.com/installationgui...85_install.pdf
 
  #12  
Old 12-10-16, 03:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
https://i.imgsafe.org/caf60ded97.jpg

I found the old thermostat in the garage and the blue line must have been labeled as an E connection so I did have it wired right according to page 24 of the manual included with the thermostat in the 1st set of pictures so I don't known where the problem is
 

Last edited by Stefan256; 12-10-16 at 05:45 PM.
  #13  
Old 12-11-16, 12:10 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The heat strips will be energized any time the heating demand is 2 degrees.

Using a programmable thermostat to change the heating setpoint throughout the day will energize the heat strips and cost more to operate.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: