Thermostat/heat pump question

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-23-16, 11:51 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat/heat pump question

We recently bought a home and received a Nest 3 from our electric company when we opened our account with them. I wondering if we have installed the thermostat correctly.

We have a Lennox Elite Series CBX27UH air handler and ECB29. This is our first experience with a heat pump and it seems to be struggling to keep the home warm. We are in south central Pennsylvania and the temp has been around 28-32 for the past 2 weeks or so. The unit seems to be running continuously and not getting up to the set temperature of 72, it is hovering around 69/70.

My main question with the switch to the Nest, there was a white wire going into the E with a jumper from E to W2/AUX on the previous thermostat. Where should this go on the Nest? The * for E? Or into W2/AUX? And do I still use the jumper? The Nest instructions said that jumpers weren't required, but I've seen online that others still use them. I've included a picture of how the original thermostat was installed.

I'm wondering if we need to have someone how to look at it, or if this is how a heat pump is supposed to function (continuous running). Or if we have the Nest installed incorrectly. Thank you!

[ATTACH=CONFIG]74755[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-23-16, 12:46 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like your backup heat is not coming on. Can you post a pic of the new stat wiring ? I would wire it the same as the old stat.
 

Last edited by skaggsje; 12-23-16 at 12:50 PM. Reason: correction
  #3  
Old 12-23-16, 01:44 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the white wire going directly into the W2/AUX right now. So you would have it go into * (E) with a jumper to W2/AUX as it was with the previous thermostat? I was confused a bit by the Nest installation instructions - they said the jumpers weren't needed so I was unsure how to handle that particular wire.
I'm at work, I'll get a picture of the wires/installation as soon as I get back home!
 
  #4  
Old 12-23-16, 01:57 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[ATTACH=CONFIG]74759[/ATTACH]

Current installation for the Nest 3
 
Attached Images  
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: