Geothermal heat pump massive energy usage!

Reply

  #41  
Old 12-13-17, 08:44 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have ordered an ammeter. It will be here Saturday. So are you just suspecting low R22. It's still heating, but i'm just assuming the missing 10,000BTU is just causing it to run much longer than it should. Which is causing me to run more KWH. I am still using 11-15KWH thought. I am still so curious how I could possibly be using that darn much.
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 12-13-17, 10:37 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I looked up what I measured on a 64,000 BTU climatemaster Tranquility 27 and I see 3,430.44 watts without the pumps and 3,993.31watts including the pumps in cool mode but the numbers climb 1000 watts in the heat mode.

I rarely see open loops. This was a closed loop and my entering water temperature was 77 degrees in both tests.

You air side delta tee is spot on.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 12-13-17 at 10:57 PM.
  #43  
Old 12-20-17, 07:28 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston, I ordered a P trap for this unit.

However, when I went to look, there's a big sticker on the side that says " Unit is Internally trapped ". I am guessing there is no need to add an external P trap to it?
 
  #44  
Old 12-20-17, 07:40 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The internal trap is a big “U” in the hose. It looks like this internal trap has been removed from your unit.

If I was going to add an external trap I would also get a 3/4” pvc tee, a slip cap and a coupling.
 

Last edited by Houston204; 12-20-17 at 08:17 PM.
  #45  
Old 12-20-17, 08:22 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston! Thank you. I guess you're probably right! I ordered this.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

That should work pretty well, dont you think?
 
  #46  
Old 12-20-17, 08:25 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
It looks like a good idea to me. Did you get some pvc glue?
 
  #47  
Old 12-20-17, 08:29 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah I have some red hot glue. I will just use that. I put a new filter in and double checked my temperatures in and out.

I had a delta at 9.9 degrees. Is there anyway you can tell me the BTU for that delta?

Seriously, I thank you so much for helping me. You have no idea how much I appreciate you.

Also. I am watching Santa Clarita Diet on Netflix. It's pretty funny if you have a chance check it out!
 
  #48  
Old 12-20-17, 08:42 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
You have 37,125 btu with a 9.9 degree delta tee and 7.5GPM.

Did you ever receive the clamp meter?
 
  #49  
Old 12-20-17, 08:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi, yes I did receive the ammeter. I hooked clamped the 2 wires going to my geothermal, I seemed only to be pulling 17-18 amps on it. I did it quickly as it was late and I needed to get dinner going.

My unit seems to produce lots of heat and has no trouble heating my house. I'm going to do both my 200A panels and see where all this powers coming from.

In the summer, when I don't use my geothermal, my bill is still around 150-180. So at 280-300 i'm paying 150 or so a month to use the heat pump. I guess that's not too bad?
 
  #50  
Old 12-23-17, 07:04 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
figured you would want to see. Here's the P trap I installed!
 
Attached Images  
  #51  
Old 01-07-18, 03:37 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am setting up my nest today. I have a few questions.

What should my lock out temperature be for the nest? "use Alternative heat when outside temperature is below" Since I have a geothermal. I dont have a traditional heat pump set up. I know the nest knows the temp outside. Shouldn't it be set pretty low? Idaho gets pretty cold at night. I don't want the heat strips to come on besides I have the temp set way too high.

Also for the heat pump settings. Does it need to be activate "Each Cycle, or Seasonally"?

Wouldn't it be Each Cycle since it's my AC as well. or would it be Seasonally?
 
  #52  
Old 01-07-18, 04:24 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I wouldn’t use a lockout function in your application.

I would connect the heat strip wire to the * terminal and only use the strips for emergency heat.
Your condenser temperature shouldn’t drop to the low “ambient” temperatures that regular heat pumps see.
 
  #53  
Old 07-24-18, 03:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Houston, do you know what my incoming water pressure should be on this open loop geothermal? I think they have it blasting at like 60PSI. Im waiting to get my gauge in tomorrow. Shouldn't it be around 20PSI?
 
  #54  
Old 07-28-18, 09:50 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
I usually see about 35 PSI entering pressure but a lower entering pressure might be a good idea with your application as long as you can keep the required GPM of water flow.

If you get the water flow too low it is hard on your compressor and the EER.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: