Blower motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-31-18, 06:43 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blower motor

Sometimes blower motor wont shut off and i will have to shut off the breaker let it sit for awhile and turn it on i then crank up the heat so it says (heats on) then i turn it down and wait to see if it shuts off . This eventually works. So i had a service call thay replaced the unit relay worked fine for about 2 months then blower motor started not to shut off again. I check it eveytime this happen to make sure the fan is on auto and it is every time. Also i notice that the thermostat will always show the room temp. about 4 deg higher than what i set it to when i realize the blower wont shut off. Example room temp shows (72) but i have it set to (70) to come on.
 

Last edited by Nebraska94; 03-31-18 at 06:53 AM. Reason: I missed something
  #2  
Old 03-31-18, 07:32 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
When the blower runs continuously, does the heat also run or just the blower?

What make/model is your thermostat?
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-18, 08:23 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
honeywell thermostat 6350
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-18, 09:13 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,794
Received 1,327 Votes on 1,226 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Doesn't sound like a thermostat problem.
Does your heat pump have back up electric heat ?

You could disconnect the thermostat from the wall base and see if blower stops.
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-18, 09:28 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disconnected the thermostat still runs. Fyi i had to shut the breaker off this morning because the blower was just running and the thermostat would not shut it off. Its been about 3 hrs turned breaker back on and the blower wasnt running.
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-18, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,794
Received 1,327 Votes on 1,226 Posts
Does your heat pump have back up electric heat ?
 
  #7  
Old 03-31-18, 01:10 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My bad no heat pump. Electric furnace
 
  #8  
Old 03-31-18, 01:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,794
Received 1,327 Votes on 1,226 Posts
Your electric furnace will probably use a sequencer to control the elements and the blower. More than likely it is sticking. it should be replaced under warranty.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: