mini split purchase and diy install

Old 09-29-18, 01:30 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
mini split purchase and diy install

Hi all, would appreciate feedback and any input on this.

I have been researching Mini Split systems for about a year now and am close to pulling the trigger on purchasing a Senville 9000 BTU unit. I've gone around the block about 1000 times, and keep ending up here. For background, I've done a lot of stuff myself, flipped 9 houses doing all the work myself, restored 4 Historical homes. When i started learning how to do things, I'd do the work, then hire a pro to come in and check me out and point out any issues, so it's important to me not to remuddle vs remodel. I believe the diy doesn't mean one cannot do the job meticulously and correct just because they are not professional level. I.e., my putting in my own system is about saving money and learning vs cutting corners and slapping stuff together.

With that caveat, I have arrived at the above system for several reasons.
One, Senville is a Canadian company and sells a lot of units in Canada. I've found that of all the Chinese relabels, they are one of the least expensive, well established makers offering units with higher HSPF ratings. I'm guessing that's because of their market, but US companies seem to emphasize SEER. I live in OR and my bigger expense is heating, not cooling, so HSPF is more important to me. Though you'd think the two numbers would run fairly parallel, i have not always found that to be the case.

Two, price. I plan on eventually having two units to condition my whole house. I'm starting with the 9000BTU Energy Star rated unit to see how that goes. I currently have central gas heat that is old and could fail any time, but still works. I'm putting the split in my bedroom, farthest from the central system, it's a cold spot. The unit is $900.