Upgrade Heat Coils?

Old 10-29-18, 04:07 AM
Upgrade Heat Coils?

I have been looking into how to better heat my house this winter with my current HVAC system. I have very little knowledge with HVAC systems so this is also me trying to get a general understanding of it all. My guess would be that upgrading my heating coils to a higher Kw would help but again little knowledge. I have attached pictures of my current system, we have only went through 1 winter with this system and last year was pretty cold.

Attached Images     
Sponsored Links
Old 10-29-18, 04:31 AM
Coils would be on the refrigeration circuit and KW would be the amount of heat from electric resistance heat. Id start off with a heat load for your home. This will tell you how much heating and cooling you need. this is the first step without this its a guess.

Old 10-29-18, 04:36 AM
Group Moderator
First, why don't you tell use where you live and why you think your current system needs upgrading? Is the current system unable to properly heat the home?

Old 10-29-18, 04:53 AM
Sorry, again I have little knowledge on the situation, but would like to know more so my lack of provided information shows that. We currently live in the Baltimore area of Maryland, the system is new (less than 2 years old).

Our second flood has trouble staying a comfortable temperature (fairly cold or hot) and I can only assume that's because its the furthest from the unit, since that is located in the basement. During the summer we use a portable AC unit to help offset the heat and last winter we had to use a space heater to help the chill. The main floor stays decently comfortable except with how the vents are placed, moving furniture around helps that out though. The basement stays chilled or cold even though its a finished, I can only assume thats because of the ground temp always being a little cooler year round.