Please help: 8-wire thermostat wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-04-18, 07:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Please help: 8-wire thermostat wiring

I'm replacing an old mercury switch thermostat with a programmable Hunter off-the-shelf unit, model 44133. However, I've gotten twisted up over matching the new unit's terminals with the existing one's wires. Here's what I'm looking at:

(See diagram at https://flic.kr/p/QvTBLh)
Name:  stat.jpg
Views: 5267
Size:  20.4 KB

OLD UNIT TERMINALS (wire color):

R (red) - G (green) - W1 (yellow) - X (brown) - E (blue) - W2 (white) - C (orange) - Y1 (black)

NEW TERMINALS:

Rh (jumped to Rc) - Y - G - W - (blank) - O - B - W2 - Y2 - (blank) - A

Can anyone help me match old terminals to new? Thanks for any help you can offer!!
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-04-18 at 08:54 AM. Reason: added pic from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-04-18, 09:06 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,666
Likes Received: 113
Welcome to the forums.

I don't usually comment on a company's product but when I can't find proper installation support directly from that company.... I do not recommend it.

I cannot find a wiring diagram for that stat. I can't even find any information if it will even work with a heat pump system with back up electric heat.

As I look further..... I don't think you have a heat pump. What is your system.... exactly.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-04-18 at 09:32 AM.
  #3  
Old 11-04-18, 02:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply, Pete. Yes, frustrating...I looked online as well and could only locate programming instructions; no installation guide.

I'm working with a Gibson heat pump:

Air handler model is GB3BM-024K-AB
Outdoor unit is model is GT3BA-024KA

If you have any recommendations for a compatible off-the-shelf programmable thermostat, I'd be most grateful.

Thanks for your assistance!
 
  #4  
Old 11-04-18, 04:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,666
Likes Received: 113
Ok..... you have a heat pump. Do you also have backup electric heat strips ? (not gas furnace backup)
 
  #5  
Old 11-04-18, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Yes...all electric; no gas.
 
  #6  
Old 11-05-18, 07:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,104
Likes Received: 15
I couldn’t find much on that thermostat.
Just a quick question, you bought a programmable thermostat. Do you plan on setting a schedule to use occupied/unoccupied setpoints?
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-18, 11:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Yes, basically. It's a unit that handles the upstairs of the house where the bedrooms are located. Wanting to do setpoints to back-off usage during unoccupied periods.
 
  #8  
Old 11-05-18, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Update: I had a tech visit and examine the situation today. Discovered that the installer from 15+ years ago did a FUBAR job of wiring the unit. Tech says he recommends rewiring the entire low-voltage side prior to installing a new thermo.
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-18, 12:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,666
Likes Received: 113
I would say that sounds about normal. Since we aren't there and can't see it.... you'll need to go by his advice.
 
  #10  
Old 11-05-18, 12:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,104
Likes Received: 15
Unless that thermostat can lock out auxiliary heat, either return it or don’t use the programmable part of the thermostat.
Your heat pump will use more energy recovering to occupied setpoint then it would have maintaining a consistent setpoint.
Premium programmable thermostats can lockmout auxiliary heat during temperature recovery, and can actually save energy.
 
  #11  
Old 11-05-18, 12:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,666
Likes Received: 113
Excellent point..... and something I neglected to mention.
Any savings using a setback thermostat can be lost if the electric reheats are turned on.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes