No heat from strips (emergency/aux heat) after new sequencer

Old 11-13-18, 08:10 PM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No heat from strips (emergency/aux heat) after new sequencer

First of all, I am a novice. Please forgive my limited understanding. However, I have been researching my issue for the past week or so. I thought I found the issue of my weak heat (the sequencer), but after install of a new sequencer today, I am not so sure.

The issue: heat pump heat works, but cannot heat the house adequately on colder nights/days. In emergency heat mode, heat does not increase but the fan kicks on as normal. Weak heat from pump only. This is a dual heat strip system, two 5kw for 10kw total.

I figured it was the heat strips not turning on. First, I checked all the connections of the wires to the sequencer and temp limiters. I turned the system back on, and to my surprise, I had very hot (100+f) air from vents. I was so happy because I thought it was just a loose connection somewhere. However, when I turned off the system at the thermostat, nothing happened, the heat and fan stayed on even in off position. A quick tap with a handle of a driver to the sequencer shut it off (like fonzie).

I thought, of course, the sequencer was bad. I ordered a new one and installed it today. However, now it has returned to the original state, weak heat without strips turning on. I triple-checked all connections are the same as before and am confident about that.

Trying to test the new sequencer, I got a multimeter at my local hardware store, although, I don't really know what I'm doing. When testing the new sequencer, the back two connector terminals, my multimeter beeps, indicating an open circuit (I think?). Is this normal? I watched a video of someone testing a sequencer and they knew it was bad when it beeped.