New Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 Install

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-18, 08:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
New Honeywell Vision Pro 8000 Install

I'm replacing my existing thermostat with a Honeywell VisionPRO 8000. The swap itself, looks straight forward. With the project I would like to also get rid of a humidistat. The humidistat has two wires but the diagram only shows one when connecting to the new thermostat.

The current setup has two wires from the humidistat. One of those wires goes straight to solenoid on the humidifier. The other goes to a relay and then comes from the relay and connects to a wire that appears to be triggered by the fan.

From the the humidifier we have the a wire previously mentioned that goes straight to the humidistat. The second wire goes to the C wire.

Which wire goes to the new thermostat? Then I'm guessing the second wire from the humidistat will be unused?

Thanks,

Name:  20181213_073647.jpg
Views: 482
Size:  77.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-13-18 at 09:46 AM. Reason: labeled diagram
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-18, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Here is the rat nest inside the furnace. Light blue arrow is from humidstat then run thru relay to the wire nut where green wire tie together. Purple is the C wire that goes to the humidifier. Pink arrow is the straight thru from humidstat to humidifier.
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 12-13-18, 09:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
When you start a new thread..... reference the old one that has information in it.
nest-gen3-install-bypass-humidifier.html

The wiring bundle is too tight. I can't see the connections.
Is that relay in the picture for the humidifier ?
I see a cable (red and white wires) on right side of relay. Where does that go ?
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-18, 09:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes that is the relay in the picture. The red goes to same wire nut where the C wire is. The white goes to wire nut where the orange wire is.
 

Last edited by newcyclist; 12-13-18 at 09:42 AM. Reason: Correction
  #5  
Old 12-13-18, 09:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
Find the two wires that come from the solenoid.
Connect one to the C terminal or splice at the furnace.
Connect the other solenoid wire to wire that is going to the thermostat on U1.

You will need the jumper shown in the diagram from R to U1.
Remove the relay and extra wires.

I labeled your diagram.
 
  #6  
Old 12-13-18, 09:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I want to make sure you seen my correction from your previous question. My update was the same time as your response. Thx

Yes that is the relay in the picture. The red goes to same wire nut where the C wire is. The white goes to wire nut where the orange wire is.
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-18, 01:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The thermostat is installed. The humidity isn't working.There is a preinstalled jumper from r to rc. I removed it. Does that need to be removed in a heat pump setup? Thanks
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-18, 01:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
No...... that stays. You need to an additional jumper from there to one of the U1 terminals.
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-18, 02:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ok.. Humidifier is staying on. I have the thermostat set to run with heat. What did I miss?
 
  #10  
Old 12-13-18, 02:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Never mind... I can't see there is two U1 terminals. My Lord I need new glasses.
 
  #11  
Old 12-13-18, 04:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
This thermostat doesn't seem to have true stage lockout feature based on outside temperature. Instead it has droop and timer setting. I guess I need a better example of how these two settings work together under different circumstances.

I have a 6 degree swing in the schedule. If I set droop at 2 degrees and the timer at, lets say, 4 hours. Which takes preference when the schedule changes the temp.
 
  #12  
Old 12-15-18, 05:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
After about a day of some runtime. I don't think the outdoor unit is defrosting. When I went thru the installer setup I left reversing valve set to the default, cool. Should this be set to heat? More observation will be needed to know for sure. Thanks
 
  #13  
Old 12-15-18, 08:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
You have a Bryant heat pump. That uses O for the reversing valve which is power on for cool.
The defrosting is controlled out in the condenser. If the reversing valve were wired wrong you wouldn't be getting heat when you should be.
 
  #14  
Old 12-15-18, 11:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
OK. Everything is working great. Conditions yesterday morning were perfect for heavy frosting so it appeared as if it hadn't defrosted. New install paranoia..

Pete, thank you for all your quick responses and assistance. I greatly appreciate your patience and diligence. I couldn't have done it myself without your help.

Thanks again and Merry Christmas.
Mike
 
  #15  
Old 12-16-18, 10:19 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
You are very welcome. Name:  smiley-thumb - S.gif
Views: 94
Size:  1.3 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: