twinning dual heatpumps one hot water coil

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-18, 07:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
twinning dual heatpumps one hot water coil

i have a unique setup i need a little help with.

we currently have two heat pumps. each are 3 ton.
it was installed in the house about 25 years ago.
back when honeywell had the eim were seperate e terminals and aux terminals.

we swaped the two heatpumps out this year back in march and upgraded to the honeywell prestige iaq 2.0. which gave us a new eim with all the w/w2 wires were intergrated into one terminal now.

currently they have been running great. one heat pump is stage one. the second is stage 2 y and y2. with w1 being the hotwater pump/relay coil.

the problem now is in the winter when the units go into defrost i have two W wires coming from each outdoor unit trying to power the hotwater coil relay and its blowing the transformer fuse in the air handler.
what is the correct way to do this without blowing fuses?

ive debated on just leaving the stage 2 unit W wire unwired since the 1st stage will be running when the 2nd is.

btw the setup is a common duct system. both outdoor units does run at the same time.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-18, 09:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Each incoming W wire would need its own relay.
All the switching contacts of the relays would be wired together in parallel.

You need 24vAC coils with a single pole normally open switch. There are many for sale. Some are double pole. Any relay can be wired to work.

Here's one example.... Relay
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-18, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ill attach a pic of what is here now and the drawing.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-18, 09:17 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,769
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
use a 75 watt transformer. this is a must with twined units.
 
  #5  
Old 12-24-18, 04:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
awesome! so just remove the 2nd transformer in the other air handler and replace the number one unit with a bigger transformer that will supply both AH.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: