A/C transformer

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-20-19, 11:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 18
A/C transformer

Is this the transformer?
Pretty warm after i cut off power ..is that normal?

What should it read when testing ?
I replaced that contactor to the right last year ..
Thanks

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  54.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-20-19 at 04:12 PM. Reason: resized picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-20-19, 12:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,627
Likes Received: 112
Probably +/- 240vAC on the input/primary side and +/- 24vAC on the output/secondary side.
A transformer can run quite warm and will stay that way for a while after power down.
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-19, 02:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks .
also what are these 2 things ..also looks like under the middle one another transformer.A relay likely in middle one .
looks like a adjuster on the big one .240v..is that a defrost adjust dial? 30-45-90

Ill likely replace it with a goodman in a few months or maybe fall .

Name:  df1.jpg
Views: 47
Size:  78.7 KB

Name:  df2.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  99.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-20-19 at 04:16 PM. Reason: cropped/resized pictures
  #4  
Old 05-20-19, 04:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,627
Likes Received: 112
That looks like a defrost timer in the top picture.
That looks like a fan relay and possibly the compressor contactor in the lower picture.

The fan cycles in defrost mode to keep the head pressure up in the compressor to defrost faster.
It will also cycle if the outside temps get too cold.

Make sure you locate a wiring diagram for that unit before making modifications.
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-19, 07:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 18
This is the contactor ..is that a 2nd one??? Maybe
oddly i wasnt getting power to the compressor on contact end till i hold it down..Im only replacing same parts with updated one for same model.
Its only 8 mo old contactor too.
Is the low pressure switch maybe why compressor doesnt engage unless i hold button in on newer contactor?

Getting pic of 8 mo old contactor

Name:  cont.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  80.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-27-19 at 11:02 AM. Reason: resized picture
  #6  
Old 05-20-19, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,627
Likes Received: 112
That last picture is the actual contactor. I know the left relay is for the fan.
I'm not 100% sure of the purpose of the right one.
 
  #7  
Old 05-21-19, 07:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 18
Here's a better pic ..maybe defrost relay?(old style)

Name:  r1.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  54.3 KB

Name:  r2.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  50.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-27-19 at 11:05 AM. Reason: resized pictures
  #8  
Old 05-21-19, 07:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,627
Likes Received: 112
I can't tell. I can see the relay but I can't follow the wiring.
Typically all the defrost transfer is done in the timer.
I know one is for the fan.

If you're going to put all this time into this unit..... find a wiring disgram.
 
  #9  
Old 05-22-19, 10:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 18
Yea I went to dealer an got diagrams..its the fan relay..
Parts sure look different today !

Name:  r3.jpg
Views: 9
Size:  13.2 KB Name:  r4.jpg
Views: 9
Size:  10.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-27-19 at 11:08 AM. Reason: resized pictures
  #10  
Old 05-27-19, 08:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 40
That red jumper wire on pic earlier ,what looks to be relay, is where the 24 v off transformer "fused wire "ends ..

Does it depend on a signal off wire beside it from defrost unit/board .?
 
  #11  
Old 05-27-19, 11:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,627
Likes Received: 112
I went thru your pictures and resized them. Your were over your 10mb limit. You are now under 1mb.
Post the wiring diagrams again.... full size and I'll tell you what to check for. I'll resize the diagrams after I download them. If it's easier you can send to one of my emails accounts. Let me know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes