Is this single or two stage?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-19-19, 03:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Is this single or two stage?

How can I tell if I have a single or two stage ac?
I bought a Honeywell t5 thermostat and itís asking.

Thanks!

Name:  s1.jpg
Views: 94
Size:  85.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-19-19 at 06:14 PM. Reason: added pic from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-19-19, 04:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,402
Upvotes Received: 11
Assuming all of the wires are hooked up properly then you have a two stage heat pump. Probably with aux heat.

To know for sure get the model number off of your outside unit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-19-19, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Model outside says XL16i and the serial is 4twx6048g1000aa
 
  #4  
Old 06-19-19, 04:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Thermo

So when the thermostat asks how many compressor stages I input 2 and for heating I input one or none
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-19, 06:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,402
Upvotes Received: 11
that is a single stage heat pump. Since all the wires were hooked up there is a possibility they did something strange. Can you check at the air handler and see what each wire connects to.

Other option is to go into the setup menu of the old thermostat to see how it controlled the system.
 
  #6  
Old 06-19-19, 06:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,376
Upvotes Received: 206
A little spare wire hanging on Y2.

Some helpful info on your condenser...... Trane XL16i mini manual/data sheet (pdf)
 
  #7  
Old 06-19-19, 07:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Pjmax

what do you mean by spare wire on y2? I currently have it set as two stage and sometimes it blows softly and sometimes it blows hard. Or is it just a single stage? I may need to call an ac guy on this thanks
 
  #8  
Old 06-19-19, 07:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,376
Upvotes Received: 206
Go to the air handler. Locate where the thermostat wires connect.
See what that ...... looks like brown wire...... is connected to.

Based on the full condenser model number.... you only have a single stage compressor.
 
  #9  
Old 06-19-19, 07:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Handler

here is a pic in the handler:

https://imgur.com/a/AjvXriy
Name:  ah.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  81.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-19-19 at 08:16 PM. Reason: added pic from link
  #10  
Old 06-19-19, 08:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Brown wire

brown wire is going to y2. You can see it in the pic and the yellow is going to y1
 
  #11  
Old 06-19-19, 08:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,376
Upvotes Received: 206
Good picture.

Yes....I see the two brown wires on Y2. One is from the stat and one goes to the condenser.
Here's your next challenge..... go out to the condenser and see if the brown is connected to anything out there. You can turn the power off out there and you may have to open the panel where the electric connects. It should be just capped off and I'm assuming when the stat selects Y2...... just the blower speeds up.
 
  #12  
Old 06-19-19, 08:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Iíll check that out first thing in the morning
 
  #13  
Old 06-19-19, 08:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Wire

and if itís not connected to anything out there then I can just disconnect it Iím assuming?
 
  #14  
Old 06-24-19, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Two stage

well I had an ac guy come out and check everything out and it is a two stage.
 
  #15  
Old 06-24-19, 01:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,376
Upvotes Received: 206
4TWX6048G1000AA is the model number you posted.
The fourth letter.... X is supposed to signify single stage while a Z would be two stage.
 
  #16  
Old 06-24-19, 08:03 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
Did your AC guy correct the low voltage wiring?
 
Attached Images  
  #17  
Old 06-24-19, 08:05 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
That outdoor unit unloads to 70% but you are wired for a system that runs 50% for stage 1 cooling (like the 19 SEER).

The ducts can sweat and eventually grow mold like that.

Stat Y1 should connect to air handler Y2 .
Thermostat Y2 should connect to air handler BK.

The R to BK jumper should be cut or dip set to open this circuit.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by Houston204; 06-24-19 at 08:48 PM.
  #18  
Old 06-24-19, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,376
Upvotes Received: 206
I see "compressor solenoid" for two stage. How does that work ?
 
  #19  
Old 06-24-19, 08:17 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
It is a scroll compressor with an unloader.
That is my favorite compressor.

I am no fan of inverter compressors.
I'll take the scroll over it any day.

Trane's 19SEER has two compressors and stage 1 is 50% of hi stage.

Carrier used to have the old Bristol compressor that unloaded to 50% as well.
I would see 2 contactors in those 38TDB units.
 
PJmax voted this post as helpful.

Last edited by Houston204; 06-24-19 at 08:49 PM.
  #20  
Old 06-24-19, 10:02 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
An exception would be a TEM series air handler.
This may very well be the case here.
 
  #21  
Old 06-25-19, 04:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,402
Upvotes Received: 11
Trane advertises the XL16i as single stage, the model number "4TWX" means single stage, but this unit has a Y2 for 2 stages? What am I missing?
 
  #22  
Old 06-25-19, 11:11 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
Trane has three 16 SEER units.
I have serviced the two stage and communicating models but I am not sure that I have worked on the single stage 16.
 
  #23  
Old 06-25-19, 05:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 15
Low voltage wiring

houston204,

i have no idea what exactly he did but the ac cools well now. It runs on low most of the time and high when it needs to.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes