thermostat wiring not matching up

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-19, 05:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermostat wiring not matching up

I have a current honeywell connected to G,C,R,Y,W2,E,O replacement thermostat is Trane with inputs of Y2,F,X2,S1,S2,(RC AND R ARE JUMPED),O,Y,G,B
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-19, 09:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Post a picture of the current wiring on the thermostat.
Normally W2 isn't used with a heat pump unless that is the standard label.....not the heat pump label.
How-to-insert-pictures.

This is a heat pump system with back up electric heat...... correct ?
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-19, 06:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is how it is currently wired. I have two of them in my house both wired the same. I would like to replace them with the other thermostat pictured but the letters do not match up.

Name:  stat1.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  32.3 KB

Name:  stat2.jpg
Views: 26
Size:  24.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-22-19 at 11:17 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #4  
Old 09-22-19, 07:29 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Hello LouieC.

Old = New
G = G
C = B
R = R
Y = Y
W2 = W2
O = O

I would tape off that brown wire for E. The new thermostat will energize W2 for Aux heat or emergency heat.

Remember to configure the new thermostat for heat pump operation.
Function 170 = 7.

It would also be a good idea to turn off power to the indoor unit to avoid popping a low voltage fuse or transformer.
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-19, 09:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I wired it just like you suggested. Turned off the breakers to the system. Thermostat turns on. I am able to control the fan (auto,on,circulate) but the system will not turn on. when I put it on heat, cool, auto it will automatically go back to off. There was a single blue wire not attached to old thermostat. so now there is two wires not attached the E and the blue wire. Could any one of those or both be the issue?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 09-24-19, 06:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
The brown wire (E) is the old emergency heat wire. It will not affect thermostat operation.
The blue wire was not connected to the old stat so it's just an unneeded/unused spare.
The R - Rc jumper needs to be in place.

I don't know what model of stat you switched to. Does it have an instruction manual ?
It needs to be programmed to your system.

Based on how most stats work..... as long as the stat is powered you can select heat or cool.
You said two of them..... is the other one working ? Possibly bad stat ?
 
  #7  
Old 09-25-19, 05:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These came off a commercial application. They were changed out at a clinic. I was hoping they would work (which I see no reason why they wouldn't)

Both Trane brand one model is 1226 not sure of the other but they are both pictured side by side.

The fan works but the AC itself won't.

E0 code states the thermostat is not communicating with the unit. Not sure how to make them talk to each other.

Any suggestions?
 
Attached Images   
  #8  
Old 09-25-19, 09:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
A communicating thermostat will not communicate with a standard furnace or A/C. Typically a communicating thermostat is connected with 2-3 wires only.

When I look up Trane 1226 I get a communicating roof mounted system.

I sent a PM to my forum partner. He's more familiar with Trane commercial.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: