Still the Case with 2019 Sinope Thermostat?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-19, 06:28 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still the Case with 2019 Sinope Thermostat?

Ran into same thing with the two top wires black and two bottom ones red. Chickened out and in replacing cover of old thermostat broke cover plate. Will probably dive in and install Sinope as seems straight forward. Any new info to further build my confidence? Sinope is TH1124ZB 4000W
 

Last edited by Jajmmiller; 12-29-19 at 06:46 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-19, 07:08 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,946
Received 106 Votes on 100 Posts
What’s the actual question here? It appears that’s some sort of line voltage smart control? One set of black and red wires is probably one circuit, either line or load.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-19, 10:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Pretty straightforward wiring......
Connect the two red wires together with a wire nut.
Connect the two black wires to the new thermostat.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-19, 04:55 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My post was in reference to an older post re connecting a Sinope smart 2 wire to 4 wire. Solution decided on was connect to black wires together and then the two reds to the 2 wires from Sinope. Details were provided re older 4 wires thermostats disconnected both sides of circuit. But Sinope needed some power so only do one side or two wire setup and they said connect to two red ends. Have photo of old thermostat and note two black wires on one side and two red ones on right side. Recent reply mentioned connect two blacks (not reds) to Sinope. Just checking to be super safe.
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 12-30-19, 10:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
The circuit is 240v. It makes no difference which pair you combine.
Red and black are identical lines. Just pick one.
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-19, 03:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks and will do the job next time I am up to cottage. Looking for ways to save electricity.

Jim
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: