Replacing Trane Thermostat with Honeywell Lyric T5+ Wifi

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-20, 08:54 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Trane Thermostat with Honeywell Lyric T5+ Wifi

Hello,

I have read many of the posts here and have most of the wires figured out, but still have a couple of questions. I am posting the picture of the inside of my existing Trane thermostat and wire hookups. I am a little fuzzy on the brown Y2, gray W3, and black and white W and W2 wires. Any help will be greatly appreciated.



This is the existing wiring.

This is the original Trane thermostat connected to the Trane heat pump/AC.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-20, 09:38 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,710
Received 920 Votes on 860 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You have a two stage heat pump. It's hard to tell how many heat sources there are.
Is this an all electric system..... no gas furnace ?
Three W terminals signifies three stages of electric heat which is not common.
Your thermostat only has single stage heat control.
We will need the model number off the air handler. There may be a second sticker for the heat section.

R -------> red ----------> R (switch up)
B -------> blue ---------> C
O ------> orange ------> O/B
G ------> green --------> G
Y1 -----> yellow -------> Y
Y2 ------> brown ------> Y2
W1 ------>white -------> AUX/W2
W2 -----> black
W3 -----> gray

Depending on what info we find.... two of the W wires may need to be combined.

Tcon thermostat manual (pdf)

 
  #3  
Old 07-03-20, 02:24 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, Pete for your quick and expert help. I've been stuck for weeks on this and am so thankful for you. This unit is all electric, no gas. I am attaching the photos of the internal wire connections and what information I can see on the blower. Is there anything else that would be helpful?






 
  #4  
Old 07-03-20, 02:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,710
Received 920 Votes on 860 Posts
Excellent pictures.

On that big sticker is a list of heating elements. The installer is supposed to check the left hand box for what was installed. Typically.... it wasn't checked.

What size breakers (amps) are at your air handler ? There should be several.
Can you try to separate the wires a little more so I can see the terminal strip and post another picture. I'm seeing an awful lot of splices there. I'm also seeing four thermostat cables.
One is the thermostat, one is the outside condenser, the other two are a mystery. Could be an A/C float on one line and a humidifier on the other.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-03-20 at 06:25 PM.
  #5  
Old 07-12-20, 09:28 AM
S
Member
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does the system have staged backup heat? Never seen a W3 before but it's on the thermostat terminal as well as the wire label so it must be kosher.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: