heat pump outside unit not running

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-08-20, 04:12 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
heat pump outside unit not running

my rudd system is 5 yrs old. worked fine before power outage but now the outside unit tries to start, gets a jolt then nothing. inside blower is running. tried and replaced dual capacitor and same issue. all turns on if i push the relay in manually.
any help greatly appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-08-20, 06:40 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
Is the unit getting a call to run? Check with your meter.
DO NOT push the contactor in. It’s very dangerous. Can cause arc flash.
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-20, 06:51 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes gets call. the fan starts, makes quarter turn then nothing. no hum nothing. only indoor fan continues to run
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-20, 06:57 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
Does the contactor pull in and remain in?
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-20, 07:02 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i am waiting for the rain to stop here and evaluate deeper. i'm thinking not, but not certain. i only tried manually pushing contactor with tstat in off position.
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-20, 08:41 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes contactor pulled in then popped back out. have 23 and change volts to contactor sides when tstat calls for cool. but very brief as contactor released.
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-20, 09:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
Ok..... your next step is to find the exact location where the thermostat cable connects to the condenser. It may be in the same area where power connects. Typically there will be wirenuts on the splices. Check right at the splice point.

The reason for this check is to see if power is being interrupted from the thermostat or the condenser itself.
There are safety switches that can open inside the condenser.
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-20, 09:54 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
tstat connects to a electrical board by 4-5 of the colored tstat wires. from the motherboard 2 wires come out and connect to the contactor.
Not sure where you are describing? I did look through the slots but did not see any reset switches/buttons
 
  #9  
Old 08-08-20, 10:01 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should the contactor have constant 24v to the sides? It seems to only have 24v when the contactor initially pulls in but then when the contactor pops out the 24v is gone.
 
  #10  
Old 08-08-20, 10:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
On that board..... look for C and Y. Check that. That is switched 24v from the thermostat.
While checking that... check from C to R for always live 24v power.
You need to determine if the fault is inside or outside.

There is no manual reset.
 
  #11  
Old 08-08-20, 10:06 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
should i put the meter on those contacts? does it matter which probe to which?
 
  #12  
Old 08-08-20, 10:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
No polarity.... this is AC.

The defrost board is always live via R and C.
The contactor is only live via R and Y. (only during a call for cooling)
 
  #13  
Old 08-08-20, 10:22 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
am i checking with tstat swithched on?
 
  #14  
Old 08-08-20, 10:41 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so c and y read 24v once tstat called and it remained 24v even though outside contactor pulled but came back out.
 
  #15  
Old 08-08-20, 10:44 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
does this mean the contactor is bad
 
  #16  
Old 08-08-20, 10:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
No.... it's not the contactor. It's a safety opening.
Hmmmm...... can you watch R and C when the contactor closes then opens.
If R and C go low....the contactor coil could be shorted.

Is there a wiring diagram on the backside of the access panel you could post a picture of ?
If not.... post the full model number from the condenser.
How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #17  
Old 08-08-20, 10:59 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts


 
  #18  
Old 08-08-20, 11:08 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

 
  #19  
Old 08-08-20, 08:02 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
not sure why, but my air handler was filled with water. it is a horizontal install so quite a mess. had to remove all the insulation and letting dry out. would this cause the condensing unit from starting? or the contactor from staying pulled in?
 
  #20  
Old 08-08-20, 08:05 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
Possibly, yes.
Do you have a condensate overflow switch?
Your drain is clogged and/or the pan is dirty.
 
  #21  
Old 08-09-20, 03:07 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
have to check. do you know what it would look like? or where it is? Can it be manually reset?
 
  #22  
Old 08-09-20, 03:35 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i dont believe i have one as the airhandler blower still comes on. the outside unit tries to start, the contactor pulls in, then pops out
 
  #23  
Old 08-09-20, 04:57 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pete,
what would short a contact coil?
 
  #24  
Old 08-09-20, 05:05 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
should C and Y read 24v the entire time in cool mode or only at initial call? Sorry but not to versed in ac troubleshooting.
 
  #25  
Old 08-09-20, 12:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
There should be always live 24vAC between R and C.
There should be 24vAC between Y and C as long as the stat is calling for cooling.
If the contactor closes and then opens.... and there is still 24v on Y and C..... the board is shutting the power down to the contactor.

You've got a diagnostic control board there..... what is it telling you ??
 
  #26  
Old 08-09-20, 12:59 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete,
should Y and C have 24v the entire time tstat is in cool mode or only at initial call?
 
  #27  
Old 08-09-20, 01:02 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
Should have voltage the entire time the system is calling for cooling.
 
  #28  
Old 08-09-20, 01:22 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete, did not know that was there. So the code is low pressure switch. What does that mean and how do I reset it? Could that occur from a power outage? was working fine up to the outage.
 
  #29  
Old 08-09-20, 01:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
Low pressure means you are low on refrigerant charge.
 
  #30  
Old 08-09-20, 01:34 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
unit is only 4 years old. should that lose pressure already
 
  #31  
Old 08-09-20, 01:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
No.... you're right. It may be a leak.
 
  #32  
Old 08-09-20, 01:58 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
The system is sealed, so you should never loose refrigerant. The refrigerant charge isn’t consumed as the system runs.
 
  #33  
Old 08-09-20, 02:16 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
could it be any other cause? Temps were cold up to the day of power outage. The drain pan was clogged and the horozontal airhandler was filled about 1/4 of water. Had to get rid of all the insulation on bottom and sides due to moisture.
 
  #34  
Old 08-09-20, 02:43 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
Was the unit frozen up or was the drain clogged?
 
  #35  
Old 08-09-20, 03:55 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
drain was clogged but im not certain if it froze up. I found it 3 days after we lost power and the power was restored so it could have defrosted already.
 
  #36  
Old 08-09-20, 04:01 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,838
Received 101 Votes on 95 Posts
Reset the error and see what happens.
 
  #37  
Old 08-09-20, 04:14 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do i reset the error code
 
  #38  
Old 08-09-20, 04:18 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i may have reset already. I cut the power to the indoor and outdoor for several minutes the repowered and the board did read normal in the off position. soon as i called for cool, the indoor fan came on and outdoor contactor pulled in the right back out and the same error code appeared.
 
  #39  
Old 08-09-20, 07:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
You'll need to call a tech and have the charge checked. That would be the next logical step.
 
  #40  
Old 08-10-20, 03:16 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
got someone coming out tuesday. post back with outcome
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: