Heater blowing cold air: what is this ?


  #1  
Old 10-01-20, 06:53 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Heater blowing cold air: what is this ?


My 2nd-floor heater blows cool air (There is another furnace in the basement and the 1st-floor heating works well). The picture belongs inside a 2nd-floor bedroom closet.
This is the responsible equipment?

I changed the filter and ensured the right flow of air.

Update: I checked the furnace in the basement. When the 1st floor thermostat activates heating, the furnace fires up with no issues. But when the 2nd floor thermostat activates heating, the furnace does not fire up and just blows air.
 

Last edited by SaeedT; 10-01-20 at 08:40 AM.
  #2  
Old 10-01-20, 02:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That is called an air handler. We can see the A/C evaporator coil.
I see a fairly large breaker which may mean that unit has electric reheat coils.
That air handler has no connection to the first floor furnace.

A model number would be helpful and what amperage is that breaker ?
I see the tag but cannot read it.
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-20, 05:58 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,013
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Hi, did it ever blow hot air?
Geo🇺🇸
 
  #4  
Old 10-02-20, 06:39 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, thanks for the reply.

The only model number I can find on the air handler's exterior is AP24BX21B.
I also have this unit outside which I believe is a heat pump (there is also a second one I believe to be just A/C). When the 2nd floor thermostat starts heating, the heat pump's fan starts.
Does the handler have burners in it?
Does it seem like more of the handler issue or the heat pump?





 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-02-20 at 01:29 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #5  
Old 10-02-20, 06:42 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just moved in to this house in summer
 
  #6  
Old 10-02-20, 11:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
Thanks for the pictures. That is a heat pump air handler. Heat is created from the outside condenser as well electric coils inside the air handler. The installer is supposed to check off what heating kit that has in it..... they didn't.

I still need to know what amperage that big breaker is.

At this time of year..... the heat pump should be able to heat with no problem. When it gets real cold and can't maintain heat.... the electric coils will come on. It's better to leave the thermostat set to one setting. It's more cost effective to have the heat pump make the heat than the electric coils. The heat pump is slow heating. The air it puts out is warm..... not hot like from a gas furnace. A heat pump must run for a long time to create the needed heat.
 
SaeedT voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 10-02-20, 12:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, thank you.

Sorry, I forgot. The breaker on the handler says 10kA on it.

It all now makes more sense to me. I was comparing the air coming out of 2nd floor vents to that in the 1st floor and since 2nd floor air was cooler, I thought the heating for the 2nd floor does not work at all. Now I see the 1st floor air is much hotter because it's coming from the furnace. I will set the heat for the 2nd floor higher so the heat pump will have more time heating as you suggested.
 
  #8  
Old 10-02-20, 12:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
The 10ka is the maximum interrupt current rating.
The actual trip current should be somewhere on the handle.
 
  #9  
Old 10-02-20, 01:20 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, then it must be the 60.


 
  #10  
Old 10-02-20, 01:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,828
Received 1,473 Votes on 1,361 Posts
I went back to the ID tag picture and highlighted the heat kit you have.
That looks to be a 12.5 kw heater.

Just to put that in perspective..... 12.5 x .10/per kw = $1.25+ per hour to run that heater.

The good thing is that heat rises so a lot of the second floor heating can be fulfilled by the lower floor gas furnace.
 
SaeedT voted this post useful.
  #11  
Old 10-03-20, 07:46 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,443
Received 128 Votes on 117 Posts
What you really want is for the heat pump to come on sooner as opposed to coming on higher. You might choose to not turn it down in the morning when you go out and expect quick warmth when you come home and turn it back up. Rather leave it at the temperature you want when you are at home.

Yes it will heat faster if you turn up the thermostat several degrees in one fell swoop. But here the closet box (the air handler) will use its built in electric heating elements that cost many more cents per BTU (the 1.25 per hour mentioned earlier) rather than run only the unit on the ground outside...
 
SaeedT voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: