5-2-1 hard start kit. I think I may have installed it incorrectly?


  #1  
Old 11-08-20, 01:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
5-2-1 hard start kit. I think I may have installed it incorrectly?

Red to C
Striped to Herm

The common, I cut the flag connector off and mounted it directly to a ground lug in my panel.. Was it suppose to put it on the Common on the contactor instead?



 
  #2  
Old 11-08-20, 02:13 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,092
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts
What hard start is this?
No wire should go to ground.
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-20, 02:24 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
CSRU2 5-2-1 3.5-5 ton..I have uploded 2 pictures. I am assuming the common needs to go to the contact circled in red on the contactor?


 
  #4  
Old 11-08-20, 04:21 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,092
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts

T1 on the contactor.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-20, 07:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
Keep in mind that your contactor is wired backwards.
L1 and L2 are supposed to be line while T1 and T2 are supposed to be load.

It will work fine backwards but be sure to keep the wires on the correct side.
So it will be L1 instead of T1.
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-20, 08:03 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since its a single phase compressor, does it really matter if i put it on L1 or L2?

3 wires on the compressor

Common on the capacitor goes to L1
1 Wire from Compressor is on L1
2nd wire from compressor is on L2
3rd wire from compressor is on HERM capacitor

With these information? Do i still put the common from the hard start kit on L1 or L2 at this point?

 

Last edited by DIYsaveme; 11-08-20 at 08:36 PM.
  #7  
Old 11-08-20, 08:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
As shown in the diagram.... hard start common goes to capacitor common location.

Since its a single phase compressor, does it really matter if i put it on L1 or L2?
Stop and think about that. Of course it matters. You have two legs of power.
They aren't interchangeable.
 
  #8  
Old 11-08-20, 08:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since its a single phase compressor, does it really matter if i put it on L1 or L2?

3 wires on the compressor

Common on the capacitor goes to L1
1 Wire from Compressor is on L1 Gray
2nd wire from compressor is on L2 black
3rd wire from compressor is on HERM capacitor gray

With these information? Do i still put the common from the hard start kit on L1 or L2 at this point?

Just to check one more time.

Red from Hard start kit goes to C on capacitor.
Stripped goes to Herm on capacitor
Black wire from hard start (common) goes to L1?

I'm sure its annoying reading the information again and repeating it. I just want to triple check.

Thank you so much for the help PJ!

The reason why I ask again, maybe i'm incorrectly reading the diagram. It looks like the hard start kit would go one leg each. If i put the common on L1, i would have all the wires going to 1 leg? Would that be correct?
 

Last edited by DIYsaveme; 11-08-20 at 09:15 PM.
  #9  
Old 11-08-20, 09:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
I relabeled the diagram for you based on your description.


 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-09-20 at 09:32 AM. Reason: corrected L labels
  #10  
Old 11-08-20, 10:41 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see the diagram for the hard start kit. Let's talk about the diagram minus the hard start kit. This is how my system is wired up currently, and has been for the past 4 years. It's a geothermal heat pump. Judging by your diagram, my entire system is wired backwards then correct, or am i still not getting it?

The diagram you showed me, Says Run needs to go to L2. Common goes to L1. However, my system is completely backwards from that.

Thank you




 
  #11  
Old 11-09-20, 09:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
Sorry about that. My L designations were backwards. The diagram has been corrected.
 
  #12  
Old 11-09-20, 11:46 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 82
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Makes perfect sense now. How it was only would've all been going to 1 out of 2 legs. That's what made zero sense to me!

Thank you so much!!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: