Goodman Heatpump blowing 3 amp fuse

Old 12-05-20, 09:37 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman Heatpump blowing 3 amp fuse

My goodman heat pump is acting up and blowing 3 amp fuses after it runs for about 3-5 minutes. I have measured y to ground at the condenser and it is an open, and i have measured C to ground at the condenser and its a short- about 4 ohms. The contactor measures 15 ohms. I have no HVAC background but have solid electronics and troubleshooting background. Any help would be amazing!

Old 12-05-20, 09:47 PM
J
This is the board in the condenser, that hotspot near those resistors doesn't look very promising...

Old 12-05-20, 09:51 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The C wire may show a short to ground. That would be normal in many systems.
If your contactor coil measures 15 ohms then you should have 15 ohms between yellow (Y) and C.

Since you have a heat pump...... is the fuse blowing when it goes into defrost ?
If it blows during defrost.... it's a shorting reversing valve line.

If it's in heat mode.... check for a short from R to ground, Y to ground.
Visually inspect the outside cable as it usually gets chewed up and causes that problem.

Old 12-05-20, 09:54 PM
Group Moderator
That's the defrost control board. Looks fairly normal including those resistors.

Old 12-05-20, 09:58 PM
J
PJmax,
I don't know if its blowing in defrost or heat mode, It just blows when i turn on my heat after about 3-5 minutes of running.

Old 12-05-20, 10:02 PM
J
Oh and i forgot to add the system is only about 2.5 year old. The air handler and the heat hump.

Old 12-05-20, 10:10 PM
J
And how do i check my reversing valve line?

Old 12-05-20, 10:10 PM
Group Moderator
Do you know if your thermostat has a compressor delay ? Most do.
That means the compressor doesn't start for 3-5 minutes on a demand for cooling or heating.